Saga Volume 1

Saga_1_cvr (1)
Story: Brian Vaughan
Artist: Fiona Staples
Genre: Fantasy, Graphic Novel, A
Rating: 3.5/5

***********Spoilers Revealed**********
I’m not much of a graphic novel enthusiast. So I’m hardly an expert on what’s good and what’s not. I do however, know what I like and don’t like. This really isn’t a “review” on this graphic novel and I won’t go into details on the pros and cons of it. Since I only read the first book of the series, I think its hardly unfair for me to judge the storyline and the writing style of the author. So, this is really just my thoughts on the first instalment of the SAGA series.

Now I won’t go into details on the character development of the book or even the different characters in the book. I will, however, comment on the protagonists of this volume because I love Marko and Alana. Now, I’m not certain if they will be present all throughout the series, but I know for certain, if ever I want parents who are rebels, these would be the parents I choose. I love how they risk everything to be together and to bring a child into this chaotic world. Plus, hello, they would do anything for their baby daughter, which I think is pretty heroic enough! The narrator of this book, I’m not really sure, but I think she might be our future protagonist. I didn’t really get much from her, I did find out that she will be present in future volumes, and she is the daughter that Alana and Marko protects all throughout this book.

Another thing I wanted to talk about is the actual graphic of the book. Like I said, I’m not much of a graphic novel reader, and probably read only a handful of such genre, but I do love the graphic of this book. It’s very well drawn and the use of color is amazing! Its interesting how the artist can capture the facial expressions of the characters as if they are real, their eyes alone speaks volumes! Even the gruesome details of the story is very well done and I felt myself cringing on the sight of these drawings. Just as much as I love reading very well written books, I love looking through very well drawn graphic novels!

I said that I won’t judge the plot of Saga, but I must say that I’m really liking the story of the two protagonists. Besides the fact that they are running away from assassins and the “prince”(?), I’m not really sure where the main story arc is going. Not that I need to know more, Marko and Alana’s story is enough for me to keep reading.

Leave a Reply

