Hercule Poirot 1, 2, 3 by Agatha Christie

So like I previously said I’m kinda back. I’ve read four books for the month of June, but I won’t write a detailed book review on all of them. Technically I’ve read three Hercule Poirot by Agatha Christie and the other one is Dorothy must Die. Please look forward for that review in the upcoming days.

The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Hercule Poirot #1)
By Agatha Christie
Genre: Mystery
Rating: 4/5
Review: I’ve read this book before, but since I’m in a really bad rut I decided to re-read Agatha’s Poirot all over again, this time in order. I really enjoy this character of Christie’s he maybe pompous and obnoxious, but he gets the job done. I love the subtle murder story and the complex discovery of the book. In this book we also see Hastings, which is my favorite companion of the beloved detective. It takes us back to the beginning on how Poirot and Hastings first start working together. I don’t know how many people have read Sir Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes, but the two books are similar to each other. Hastings is the Watson of Poirot, so I feel that Hastings is just as beloved as Holme’s companion.

To be honest, I really don’t remember anything about this book as I was reading it. Not that I’m complaining it’s nice trying to find the murderer again and try to solve the case. This book is very much your everyday whodunnit book. We see Poirot try to solve his first case with the death of the wealthy Emily Inglethorp. Invited by the Inglethorps, Hastings accepts the offer for a much needed rest. Unknown to him, this will be the beginning of his adventures with Poirot. During his visit to the ‘Styles’ compound, our narrator learns of the various tensions that each character has with the matriarch. Emily, running a tight-fisted household prefers to have the last decision on the lives of her stepsons. However, the main strain on the relationship of Emily and her stepsons is the unity of their mother to the questionable Alfred Inglethorp. As the death of Emily is found, Poirot takes upon himself to solve the crime in memory of his benefactor!

The Murder on the Links (Hercule Poirot #2)
By Agatha Christie
Genre: Mystery
Rating 4/5
Review: So right after I finished the first book I decided to just keep riding the Poirot band wagon and picked up the second Hercule. In this story, we find Hercule and Hastings paired up again to solve the mystery of the death of Paul Renauld. This was an interesting read for me because we get to see Poirot in a match with another detective. Not only did I love the mystery in the book, but the competition between the detectives spiced up the book.

Poirot and Hastings travel to France in response to Paul Renauld’s call for help. Upon their arrival they find out that their hasty departure was not enough to save his life. As the story unfolds South America becomes the central point of question. Since Renauld’s past is unknown to many, South America and his association comes into question. While the other detective stumps himself with the South American problem, Poirot focus on the neighbor of the said victim.

Poirot Investigates (Hercule Poirot #3)
By Agatha Christie
Genre: Mystery
Rating: 3/5
Review: This is a little tough for me to review because its a short story collection. All of them features the famous detective and of course his right hand man, Hastings. The stories are all very well written and includes Christie’s classic way of creating an interwoven mystery. Although they were all short and doesn’t give you much details, its still a pretty good read. My only problem was that it was too short. You don’t really get attached to any characters besides our narrator and his hero. I would recommend this to those who are already familiar to Agatha Christie’s writing because its difficult to fall in love with the queen of mystery if the story are too under developed.

Leave a Reply

