Top Ten Tuesdays: Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve read/want to read

So for this weeks Top Ten Tuesdays they wanted to list the ten fairytale re-tellings that I’ve read or want to read. They also included fairytales that I want to be retold or fairytales that I love.

I love fairytales, its the first stories that I read as a child and my parents would take me to watch all the Disney movies. Now when I got older I learned that these “Happily Ever After” stories didn’t always end the way Disney wrote them, but that didn’t deter me from loving the Disney version. So here are my top 10 in no particular order.

1. Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale
Based loosely on Maid Maleen by The Grimm Brothers

2. The Fairytale Detectives by Michael Buckley
Not necessarily a re-telling, more of a continuation. A look on live AFTER the “happily ever after”

3. Dorothy Must Dies by Danielle Paige
This too is not a re-telling. Its a continuation of life after defeating the Wicked Witch

4. Disney at Dark by Ridley Pearson
I’m really not sure what to call this. This book is not a re-telling or a continuation, but it does include the characters in mostly all Disney movies. Yes, this does use Disney fairytales and not the originals.

5. Wicked: The Life and Time of The Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire
Not a re-telling, more of a prequel to Wizard of Oz

6. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass
Re-telling of Cinderella

7. Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter
Re-Telling of Alice in Wonderland

I don’t really have enough books to list for favorite re-tellings, so I’ll just list 3 re-telling books that I want to read.

1. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
Re-telling of Little Riding Hood

2. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Re-telling of Cinderella

3. Splintered by A.G Howard
Re-telling of Alice in Wonderland

Leave a Reply

