Heroes of Olympus: Son of Neptune (Book 2) by Rick Riordan

Son of Neptune
Author: Rick Riordan
Genre: Urban Fantasy, Mythology
Rating: 4/5
Protagonist(s): Percy Jackson, Hazel Levesque, Frank Zhang
Other Characters: Reyna, Octavian, Nico Di Angelo
Gods/Goddess Mentioned (Roman/Greek): Juno/Hera, Mars/Ares, Iris, Bacchus/Dionysus

Synopsis: Just like The Lost Hero, the second installment of Heroes of Olympus introduce us to the well known Percy Jackson, and similar to Jason, he too, has lost his memory. Percy, having no recollection of his past, except for the name Annabeth, Lupa sends him off west, to a safe haven. Fortunately for Percy his instincts sets in as he battles off monsters that won’t get killed. Eventually, he makes his way to Camp Jupiter where he tries to blend in and be one of the Romans demi-gods. Even though he is similar to many of the other kids in the camp, he can’t help but feel a sense of loneliness. At the camp, Percy, befriends two other demi-gods, Hazel and Frank, daughter of Pluto and Son of Mars, where they embark on a treacherous journey to defeat Alcyoneus the Giant and try to bring death back. Along the way we learn the story of the other two demi-god and understand more about the Prophecy of Seven.

Review: The first time I ever read Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief I disliked Percy, but as the book progress and I read more of him, I can’t help but love him! I think the main reason I enjoyed this book more than The Lost Hero was because of Percy. I admit Jason, Piper and Leo are a great addition to the cast, but that book was missing something for me. Just like every book I’ve read of Riordan, this had phenomenal writing. His characters are well developed and you get attached to the heroes/heroine right off the bat. I love how he incorporate random people from Percy Jackson and the Olympians into this new series. I enjoy reading updates, not just from the main characters, but also characters that were mentioned in previous books. The one thing that I kinda disliked about the book was that Grover wasn’t in this at all. A mention of him is not acceptable. I hope the other books at least include him in greater details. I also wished that there was at least a chapter or two about Camp-Half Blood. I missed the minor characters and the up-beat feeling of the camp, Camp Jupiter was too serious for my liking. However, I do enjoy the option of being able to live in the compound of the Roman camp even the demi-gods has grown up. Although, I love reading Riordan’s books, I’m always hesitant to start his books. I don’t know maybe the size is daunting for me, or maybe I just don’t want to the series to finish. Either way, at the end of every book I’m always happy to be able to read such a great series.

As I said before, Riordan’s writing style is amazing. He has a way of introducing characters in a vivid and interesting way. I think I also enjoyed this book a lot more than the first because of Hazel and Frank. I love their background story and how its so different from the others. As much as I found Piper interesting, Hazel just seems so much more bad-ass in comparison. I especially enjoyed the mysterious heritage of Frank, and even if Leo has such a comedic personality, Frank is very endearing. If I really have to compare Percy and Jason, hands down I’m team Percy. They are so similar in strength and leadership, but I feel that Percy has more personality. Don’t get me wrong, Jason is just as good as the other characters, but I’m more drawn to the characters of the second book. The other reason I’m drawn to Son of Neptune is because of the epic battles. Yes, there are some awesome fights in The Lost Hero, but Percy’s battles are just…better.

As much as I am raving about this book, there are things that could have been improved. I really do wish that they included some aspects of Camp Half Blood. I get that its an introduction to Camp Jupiter and Riordan needs all the pages to set it up, but it would have been nice to see the old camp. I miss all the minor characters that I grew to love/stand from the Percy Jackson and the Olympian series. It just didn’t seem the same without Percy battling it out with Clarisse. The next point probably annoyed me more than anything else in the book. ARGH! I don’t usually get bothered by cliffhangers, but this one really did. So close and yet…Riordan had to cut it off. I’ve never read a series where I want to pick up the next book right away.

That being said, I may pick up the next book right away. If you’re like me, hesitant to start this book, don’t be! It’s so worth the read and a lot better than the previous book. I still do want to read more of Jason, Piper and Leo, but I would like it better if all of them are together. Also, please, more Grover!

***********************SPOILER ALERT!!*********************

Ending: There really isn’t that much to spoil. Yes, there is a cliffhanger in the end, but not really a big one. I just really wanted for Annabeth to finally see Percy. All throughout The Lost Hero her anguish and heartbreak was too saddening, so I would have really wanted to see a happier ending for her on this book.

Most of my reviews usually go in depth on my spoilers, but I feel with this one people must go in blind. I enjoyed my reading experience getting to know Hazel and learning the mystery of Frank, so I don’t want to spoil that experience for first timers. I will say this, the surprise in the end, regarding Sammy, really did surprise me O_O.

Leave a Reply

