R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril X

RIP

I was looking for different challenges that I could do for the month of September. I just finished my first ever challenge and I’m totally hooked so I wanted more! I then stumbled on this RIP X Challenge and it sounds wonderful! I love anything scary and eerie to read especially this time of the year! So, of course I’m going to participate in the challenge. It will run from September 1 – October 31. I know I’m late in the game, but I just lost 6 days so no biggie ^_^

From what I gather the main creator of this challenge is Carl V. Anderson of Stainless Steel Droppings, but this year it will be hosted by Andi and Heather of Estella Society.

I have copied the “rules” of this challenge:
Without further ado, pick your poison, won’t you? September 1st is here, and we’re ready to begin!

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above.

That is what embodies the stories, written and visual, that we celebrate with the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril event.

As time has wound on, we’ve discovered that simple rules are best:

1. Have fun reading (and watching).
2. Share that fun with others.

There are also multiple levels of participation, so head on over to Estella Society to pick your own level. Here is the level I will be participating in.

perilfirst
Peril the First: Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (the very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be King or Conan Doyle, Penny or Poe, Chandler or Collins, Lovecraft or Leroux…or anyone in between.

My Choices:

1. Sactum by Madeleine Roux
2. Isle of Blood by Rick Yancey
3. The Ghost Files by Apryl Baker
4. Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

*All images seen are created by Abigail Larson*

Last Update

I’m actually surprised that I finished this challenge! I started to waver by October, but I got 4 reads from the genre stated above! Can’t wait to do this challenge again next year!

Leave a Reply

