Top Ten Trilogies I have Quit

toptentuesday

For this week’s Top Ten Tuesdays, we we’re almost given free reign on our top ten, with one requirement, it needs to be something we “quit” or “have quit”. So of course, I have decided to do my Top Ten Trilogies that I have Quit. Meaning I’ve read the fist book, but didn’t find it worthy enough to continue on with the trilogy.

Like stated on the title, I’m only going to list books that are part of a trilogy. So no stand alone, sagas, or series.

A Disclaimer: I really don’t mean to offend anyone. These are my opinions and should be taken as is. If you are offended and these books are your most favorite, sorry, but everyone is entitled to their own opinions.

So let’s get on with it.

1. Matched by Allie Condie
When this series first come out, it was during the phase of Dystopian galore. Everyone was reading a dystopian book. So of course, it being one of my favorite genre, I wanted to read as much of the new releases that came out. Matched was one of them. I found that the concept of this book was interesting and quite unique, unfortunately when I read it, it fell flat of my expectation. As much as I wanted to continue this series. I just couldn’t stomach more of Cassie and her relationship problems.

2. Divergent by Veronica Roth
I actually started reading this because of all the hype. When I went to the bookstore it was everywhere and this was before the movies came out. So yea, I definitely needed to read it. I really, really wanted to like this book. I don’t know if my expectations was too high because of all the hype, but I just didn’t click with Tris or anyone in the book. In fact, Tris actually got on my nerves. I hated reading every moment of this book so of course I didn’t even bother with the next two.

3. The Maze Runner by James Dashner
This is another series that I wanted to love, but unlike the other book, there was no hype for this trilogy. So going into this book, I had no idea what it would be except for the small blurb at the back. Like I said, I really, really wanted to like this book since it sounded different and amazing. Big disappointment! I almost didn’t finish this book and didn’t feel like the next few books are not worth it for me. I’ll just stick to the movies.

4. Enclave by Ann Aguirre
I’m not really sure how popular this trilogy was, but this is another book that came out during the dystopian phase! It’s not so much that I hated this book, but it was bit tedious and there really wasn’t anything unique about the story plot.

5. Blood Red Road by Moira Young
This is another book that’s way too painful to talk about. So much high hopes. I actually picked this book up because it had the same feeling as Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, but unlike Ness’ book, this one did not capture my interest. So it’s off to my charity pile.

matcheddivergentmaze runnerenclaveblood red road

6. Poison Study by Maria Snyder
Don’t get me wrong I loved, loved, loved this book. This book was actually one of my favorite books when I first read it, but I want to keep my love for this book just for this book. I head so many bad things about the other two books that I just didn’t have the heart to read the other two, fearing that it will tarnish my view on this one. So I will quit while I’m ahead!

7. The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor
This was another book I had high hopes for. I love the original Alice in Wonderland story so of course any fairytale re-telling I would grab the chance to read it. The problem was, this was really boring. Reading the blurb it had so much potential, unfortunately, it wasn’t what I expected.

8. The Ghost Files by Apryl Baker
This one is a very recent read and it was good enough, but I don’t think I want to continue reading the next two books. There are just weird aspects in the novel that annoyed me a bit and I don’t think I want to continue on. There really are a lot more books that I would prefer to read.

9. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
I really have a problem with this trilogy. I feel like I’m the only one who dislikes these books and personally, I’m really not sure why I do. The concept is good, the writing is good and the characters are very well written. I even went as far as reading the second book thinking that maybe it was just a bad week for me when I read it. But even the other book I just couldn’t get myself to like it. Maybe, just maybe I’ll try reading it in book format in the future. Maybe.

10. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
Last one and another dystopia. Mind you I read a lot of dystopian books. This is another book that I had hopes for and was dashed. I’m really surprise I finish this because it really was a let down. It was cliche with mediocre writing. I really do wish that it was better, but oh well.

Poison Studylooking glass warsghostgirldaughter of smoke and boneUnder the never Sky

So that’s it for this week’s Top Ten Tuesdays and hope you guys enjoyed it. Let me know in the comments below trilogies that you have given up on or books that are on my list that you think shouldn’t be.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Trilogies I have Quit

  1. Whaaaat? There are other people in this world that didn’t like Divergent? I really wanted to like that book too, but I just couldn’t. All of it just seemed so silly to me, and Tris didn’t make much sense. I forced myself to read it through to the end, but it was a struggle. Obviously, I didn’t bother reading on either. I don’t even think I can watch the movies…

  2. Pingback: Series I will be Continuing |

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Series that got worse with each Book |

Leave a Reply

