Hollow City (Book 2) by Ransom Riggs

hollow city
Author: Ransom Riggs
Genre: Science-Fiction
Rating: 3/5
Protagonist(s): Jacob Portman
Other Characters: Miss Peregrine, Olive, Horace, Fiona, Millard, Emma, Bronwyn, Enoch, Hugh, Claire

Review:The first time I picked up the book Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, I thought that it was going to be a creepy, psychological thriller and since I was reading it at the same time as Asylum by Madeleine Roux, I thought it would be in the same vibe. Unfortunately I was wrong. As I was reading it I realized that it wasn’t what I expected. Instead of the scary characters that I would leave me half-awake in the night, all I got was peculiar children. I won’t really go into details on my review for Miss Peregrine’s, but I will summarize my thoughts on it since it’s important to acknowledge the improvement of my perception on the trilogy.

Just a cation to Miss Peregrine fans, if you love the first book, I think you should skip this part of the review. To be brutally honest, I was very disappointed in this book from start to finish. By the end of the last chapter I was really sure I wasn’t going to continue on with Jacob’s story, but I got sucked in by the fans and all the people who has been praising the second book. So I gave it a second chance and I’m glad that I did, because this second book was worth the read.

Unlike the first book, I really didn’t have any expectation for this one. In fact I went into this with hesitation and foreboding. Hahahaha…I really did just pick this up because of the raves and ratings of other bloggers and booktubers. So, I was pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. Not my new favorite read, but I enjoyed it enough that I would, most likely, read the last book in the trilogy. I admit that there are still things in this book that persistently bothered me all throughout, but I feel that I learned to tune it out of my head.

A warning: To those who read this review, there will be some spoilers from the first book, Miss Perergrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, since the book does pick up from where book one ended, it is hard not to give some things way.

There really isn’t anything wrong with Hollow City. To be honest, the reasons I disliked Miss Peregrine’s is very much still evident in this second book and these reasons is why I gave the book a lower rating. However, on its own, it is very well written and full of action. I love how Riggs goes into further details on his world, and you can see more of how the other people are comping besides the peculiars. The world building in this book is phenomenal and the pictures aids your imagination. In the first book, I felt that the pictures where used to tell a story, therefore it didn’t flow as well as it should. On this book, however, it was an amazing balance between story and pictures. Rather it be the center of attention, it was the story that took the main stage, and the pictures enhanced the tale. I’m really glad that he included other peculiars that are not within Miss Peregrine’s ‘wing’ (get it*wink*). The menagerie is a beautiful twist on what we think a peculiar is, and even if it’s a depressing read, I do wish that we get more of them on the second book. As for the actual peculiar children, I’m really glad that Rigg’s spent more time on developing each child. I’m not saying he went into further details about their powers, but he managed to showcase each of their strengths. I admit though, there are some within the group that irritates me. Seriously, if you read the book, you will know. Irritating! Now as much as I’m starting to enjoy the book and even the protagonist of the trilogy, there are still factors that I cannot look pass.

I really do have a problem on Rigg’s way of writing his relationships. I think this is one of the main reason why I cannot fully throw myself into the story. There is so much hesitation, on my part, regarding the blooming relationship between Jacob and Emma. Besides the fact that it almost seems like insta-love, there is just weirdness to how they first met. I can handle the time difference, and even the fact that Emma has been living on the same day for years, but the deal with Jacob, Emma and his grandfather is a bit difficult to swallow. Really, I don’t know how anyone can even see past this scenario. To tell you the truth, I’m usually the type of reader that prefers to have one love interest and for them to be together from beginning to end. Seriously, I have stopped reading a series/trilogy because the protagonists didn’t end up with the person that was in my mind. Any other book, any other time, place and scenario, I would have rooted for this pairing, but this just makes me want to scream. OK, enough with my small rant. Besides the weird relationship, I really didn’t like the whole insta-love. Although, there really weren’t a lot of instances where the two showed their affection for each other, when they did, it was a bit over the top. They literally just met and stating the said fact doesn’t really make it ok.

Like I said, there really isn’t a lot that I disliked about this book, but those that arose, began from the previous story. Hopefully, my reasons for like this book will be evident in the last installment of the trilogy and I’m actually looking forward to seeing all the characters again, even Jacob and Emma.

***********************SPOILER ALERT!!*********************

Ending:There are some books that I will spoil for people and there are some that I won’t. I think this one falls in the latter. I will say though:

The bird is not what it seems…

2 thoughts on “Hollow City (Book 2) by Ransom Riggs

  1. Pingback: October Wrap-up and November TBR | Book Sophisticate

  2. Pingback: Library of Souls (Book 3) by Ransom Riggs |

Leave a Reply

