Series I want to start in 2016

I know we still have a few more weeks to 2015, but there are already books I’m eyeing for the year 2016. Now some of these books are not new releases in 2016, but these are just series/trilogies that I want to start next year.

Now if you’re asking, “why don’t you just start it now?” Well, I’ve been trying to finish as many series as I can for this year and of course I left it to the last minute to actually get to them. So for the remainder of 2015 I’m only going to read books that are in a series/trilogies that I’ve already started. So therefore 2016 will be the year were I can start new trilogies/series.

Here are some of the series I’m going to start next year and a small synopsis of the book (from goodreads).

shadow and bone

The Gisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo
Book I: Shadow and Bone
Book II: Siege and Storm
Book III: Ruin and Rising
There are 5 novellas from the same storyline

Synopsis: Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

*I’ve heard a lot of good things about this trilogy and since it sounds like it would be up my alley, I’m really interested in starting this.

the 5th wave

The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey
Book I: The Fifth Wave
Book II: The Infinite Sea
Book III: The Last Star (Release Date: May 24, 2016)

Synopsis: After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

* Just to clarify, I wanted to read this book even before it was going to be released as a movie in January 2016. That being said I most likely will read this beginning of the year since I do want to watch the movie.

falling kingdoms

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
Book I: Falling Kingdoms
Book II: Rebel Spring
Book III: Gathering Darkness
Book IV: Frozen Tides
Book V: Untitled (2016)
Book VI: Untitled (2017)

Synopsis: In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

* I’ve heard mixed reviews on this series, but I’m really curious about it all. Since the last two books are not out yet, I might read this closer to the end of 2016

the winner's curse

Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski
Book I: The Winner’s Curse
Book II: The Winner’s Crime
Book III: The Winner’s Kiss (Release Date: March 1, 2016)
There is 1 novella from the same storyline

Synopsis: As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

* I’ve heard a lot of good things about these books and I’ve been wanting to pick it up for awhile, but I do want all the books to be out, or at least near to the release date.

raven boys

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
Book I: The Raven Boys
Book II: The Dream Thieves
Book III: Blue Lily, Lily Blue
Book IV: The Raven King

Synopsis: Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

* I’ve been hearing this book for as long as I can remember. I read Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races and really enjoyed it. I most likely will try the first book in this series to test out the water.

the darkerst minds

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
Book I: The Darkest Minds
Book II: Never Fade
Book III: In the Afterlight
Novella Bind-up: Through the Dark

Synopsis: When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something alarming enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that gets her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that’s killed most of America’s children, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they cannot control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones.

* The first time I picked this book up, it already fascinated me. So of course I had to place it in my TBR pile. Unfortunately, I never got around to reading it. So 2016 will be the year for it!

Those are some of the series I want to start for 2016. Please note though, just because its listed here, it doesn’t mean I will read the whole series/trilogy. I will actually just continue it if I enjoyed the first book.

One of my goal for next year is to finish as many series I have pending. This is the same as my 2015 goal. I will try to make my list of “Series I need to Finish” closer to 2015 or even beginning of 2016.

Leave a Reply

