This Pen for Hire by Laura Levine

penforhire

Author: Laura Levine
Genre: Cozy Mystery
Rating: 3.5/5
Protagonist: Jaine Austen

SynopsisJaine is a pen for hire. She can write everything from a formal resume to a dotting love letter. When nerdy Howard Murdoch asked Jaine for help, she writes him a love letter for a fitness goddess. Unfortunately, she turns up dead and it is up to Jaine to clear Howard’s name.

Review: I’m really glad I got to squeeze in some cozy mystery book before the end of the year.

I heard really great things about this series from many of my GR friends, so I decided to pick it up to check for myself. I’m really glad that I chose this series to read because it was light, fun and an enjoyable read! I admit it was a bit cliched, but that’s acceptable for a cozy. Although it was similar, there were also things that set the series apart.

This is the first from the series, but it left me laughing loud and wanting more. I admit that the mystery is not as impressive as other cozies series, but it was still interesting. If you’re a cozy reader, then the killer of this book would have been obvious. I hated the decision that the author made regarding the villain, but it made sense and made the story intriguing. I was hoping that the outcome would be different, but I was just deluding myself.

The heroine of the story is very likable. She’s funny, smart and made the story interesting. I love the explanation of her name and made her interesting. I would have enjoyed it more if the story is a re-telling of a Jane Austen book, with a twist of mystery, but we can’t have everything.

I’m actually really surprised that this was set in a much bigger place than the normal small town. I’m not saying its a bad thing, it actually added to its charm and it set the series apart from the others.

I’ll keep reading the series and hope it gets better after each book.

***********************SPOILER ALERT!!*********************

Ending: I hated, hated the villain. I was really hoping that they were going to make Cameron one of the love interest, but either way it was something different.

Hopefully, the rest of the books would have something different for her next book as well.

Leave a Reply

