The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

the 5th wave

Author: Rick Yancey
Genre: Post-Apocalyptic
Rating: 3/5
Protagonist: Cassie, Ben
Other Character(s): Ringer, Poundcake, Nugget(Sammy), Evan Walker, etc.

Synopsis: When aliens invaded earth, they released 4 waves that destroyed billions of lives. The last remaining humans have gathered waiting for the 5th wave. Will they survive together or fight those who are significantly more advanced?

Review: The first book that I picked of Rick Yancey’s was the Monstrumologist and it was instant love. I have to admit this love is a bit on the edge by the third book, but nevertheless I still enjoy his writing. So when I heard he released this new series, of course I was all over it. Especially since it’s a post apocalyptic, invasion novel, who wouldn’t be intrigued by that? The problem was, I already had a lot of books on my TBR so this was pushed further on the list. Until, the movie was announced and I had to move it towards the top to be able to read the book before watching it. Unfortunately, the 5th Wave didn’t emanate  the same feelings as the Monstrumologists did, but I’m hoping that the other two books will change that around. I’m not saying I hate it altogether, but there were just factors in the books that I had issues with.

The reasons I picked up this book was one it’s written by Rick Yancey and the other is, it’s a post-apocalyptic novel, which I adore! I’m not much of a sci-fi reader, but I really enjoyed the whole alien invasion concept of the book. I haven’t read a lot of novels similar to this, so I have no comparison, but I did enjoy how Yancey wrote it. For me, it was something different and  unique, which is such a fresh of breath air to all the vampire and zombie books I’ve been seeing recently. I wouldn’t mind reading more books like these. As far as protagonists go, I actually didn’t mind Cassie. She acted the way any teenager would have in her situation, scared and uncertain. Actually, she’s handling herself way better than some adults would have. I enjoyed her character because I feel that she was written realistically. She’s not the perfect protagonist who is an expert marksman, or achieved perfect girl scout badges that allowed her to survive on her own. She’s a typical teen that was thrust in a world where she had to learn to survive. Which I enjoyed reading.

Now on to the things that I wasn’t at all happy about. For one, the pacing of the book! I enjoyed the fast story line, but there were times when the book was just too tedious. I understand that Yancey is trying to portray a dire and dangerous new world, I could have done with less description though. Comparing this to his Monstrumologist book, this one didn’t compare to it. Which I hated!!! I really wanted to love this book, but I didn’t! I don’t hate it. I just could have done with more page-turner moments. Another thing that I didn’t enjoy about the book was the LOVE TRIANGLE! Yes, I hate love triangles or even the potential of it. I would enjoy this series a lot more if there wasn’t that over-looming burden or pressure of not knowing who she picks in the end. ARGH! This is like Hunger Games all over again. I know that this is such a small detail and it shouldn’t affect me this much, but I hate these types of tropes!

There were highs and lows to this book. It’s not perfect, but it was interesting. Although I can’t stand the tropes that are present in it. I really do want to see what happens to Cassies, Ringer, Evan, Ben and Sammie. So off to get The Infinite Sea.

***********************SPOILER ALERT!!*********************

Ending: No spoiler! Except EVAN = Silencer 0_0

One thought on “The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. Pingback: 2016 Dystopian Reading Challenge |

Leave a Reply

