Ten Characters Everyone Loves But I Just Don’t Get

toptentuesday

This week we had a choice to either pick Ten characters that I liked, but others didn’t OR Ten characters other loves but I just didn’t. So obviously enough I decided to pick the latter, since I can actually make a list with more book. I won’t have a good solid ten, but I at least would have enough.

I feel that a good character can make and break a book. I haven’t really fully loved a book/series where I dislike the protagonist. The whole novel could be beautifully written, but if the main characters have no substance, then I might as well not waist my time. I think this is important for both main and minor characters.

So here is my list:

 
Cath from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
eARGH! I feel like I’m going to get a lot of hate for this, but I really couldn’t stand the protagonist, Cath. As much as I wanted to like her, I just found her so whinny and sullen for my liking. I know she gets a bit better towards the end, but in the beginning I couldn’t stand her.

 

 

 

 

 

Cinder from Cinder by Marissa Meyer
CinderI don’t exactly hate Cinder, in fact in this whole list, she’s my least, least favorite, if that make sense to you. I just didn’t connect to her like so many others that enjoys this series. I do start to warm up a lot more towards her when I read Scarlet, but in the first one, I just didn’t understand the fascination.

 

 

 

 

Jason from The Lost Hero By Rick Riordan
heroesJust like Cinder, I really don’t hate Jason. In fact by the end of the series, I start to love him. On this first installment of The Heroes of Olympus though I just didn’t click with him. I keep wanting Percy Jackson to emerge, but of course if you’ve read the book, you will know he doesn’t. Jason is a character on his own. He’s just as good as PJ, but in a different way.

 

 

 

 

Cas from Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
Anna DressedActually with this one, I’m not really sure if I dislike him as a character or its only because I dislike the book. Not going into details, I just find the whole book weird. The protagonist though takes the cake. He’s not such a bad character, I just don’t understand his way of thinking. As much as I enjoy these types of books, I feel that Cas was too two dimensional, but I feel like I’m just one sided in this argument.

 

 

 

Harper from Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins
Rebel Belle.jpgI really don’t understand how people don’t see this book as stereotypical. I don’t really know people from the south, but I’m pretty sure they’re not all pearl-wearer-straight-A’s students. I think this is the reason why I dislike Harper. I’m really into kick-ass heroines  who enjoys protecting the people they love and Harper is all this. I just couldn’t get myself to like her.

 

 

 

 

Celaena from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
thone of glassOk, lets get this straight, I don’t hate the book, in fact it was very enjoyable. I just didn’t like Celaena that much. I know everyone loves her and her carefree attitude, but I found her to be too arrogant. I think I’m really the only one who feels this and it makes me dislike her a lot. I love that she’s so bad-ass, but I just can’t stand her cockiness. It got to the point that I would skip those pages when shes on her egotistic flair.

 

 

 

 

Four from Divergent by Veronica Roth
divergentI was never a fan of Divergent and didn’t get attached to any of the characters. I’m not saying Tris was such a great character, but I feel that Four has a lot of fan followers and I really don’t get it. As much as I love bad-boy-but-with-a-good-heart character, I just couldn’t get myself to like Four. I’m really surprised that so many people love him

 

 

 

 

Aaron from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Shatter MEI LOVED this book. Really, really enjoyed reading the whole thing from beginning to end. BUT when I found out the ending of this whole trilogy (yes, I’m that type of reader) I just couldn’t phantom the reason! I hated him in this one and there is nothing that will redeem him for me!

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know down below if you guys agree or disagree with me! Please be gentle with me if you’re going to bash my choices!

7 thoughts on “Ten Characters Everyone Loves But I Just Don’t Get

Leave a Reply

