Birthstone Book Tag

birthstones

It’s been so long since I actually did a YouTube Book Tag, but I just had to do this. It sounds really wonderful and the questions are very unique! I first heard of this tag from Bookables, but I believe the actual creator of it is Jay G. Of course I wasn’t tagged, but that doesn’t really stop me from doing it.

I’m going to try to have different books for each of the questions to give a variety of possibilities.

So let’s begin!

JANUARY: Garnet – Associate with warding off negative forces and dark energies
Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of

rotandruin

Rot & Ruin by Benny Imura

To be honest, I really don’t remember the names of the villains in this book. All I remember is that they were evil! In times of desperate need I think people should bind together to fight the real problem, instead the villains in here refuse to co-operate, instead they take advantage of the desperate situation.

 

 

 

 

FEBRUARY: Amethyst – Purple is associated with royalty
Name a book with regal qualities. You can base this off of characters of choice. The King of all books

Cinder

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Although I didn’t really enjoy this book as much as other people did. We all know there are loads of royalties in this book. From the hidden princes, to Prince Kai and even the moon as a Queen. So as you can see this is a very fitting book for this gem.

 

 

 

 

MARCH: Aquamarine – Washed out
Name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or a follower

book of ivy

The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel

This was one book I really didn’t mean to start, but since it was available at my library I decided to take a stab at it. Ivy, our protagonist, lives under the shadow of her father and older sister. Being the youngest, it was her duty to follow her father’s and sister’s orders. This made her a very naive and uncertain character. I admit she doesn’t stay that way all throughout, but she’s not as strong as other female leads that I’ve read.

 

 

APRIL: Diamond – A Diamond in the rough
Name a book that you loved but is not well known

monstrumologist

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

Now that the 5th Wave has been made into a movie, Rick Yancey has started to gain some followers, but his first series The Monstrumologist didn’t really get the spotlight as much as I wanted it to. If you ask me I actually prefer this Monstrumologist series to his trilogy. Really, you must try it!

 

 

 

 

MAY: Emerald – Said to balance energy
Name two characters who balance each other

mark of athena

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson and Anabeth Chase may be a young couple, but I think they are so strong together. In the Percy Jackson series we see them as young teens hesitant of their feelings for each other, but in The Heroes of Olympus we see their relationship stronger. Both are equally good apart, but they are just as good together and that’s what makes them so good together.

 

 

 

 

JUNE: Pearl – Associated with loyalty
Name a character who is loyal to the end

the darkerst minds

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

I admit I haven’t read the whole entire trilogy, but from what I have gathered this gem goes to Chubs. He’s fiercely loyal, not just to the protagonist, but to any of his friends, especially when you have won his trust. Really, if something ever goes wrong in reality, I would want a Chubs by my side!

 

 

 

 

 

JULY: Ruby – Blood Red
Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry

sapphire blue

Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier

This book didn’t really make my blood boil. Just mildly irritated. I’m not really a controversial reader and I usually stay clear of such books. I hate reading books that includes rape, domestic violence, overly racist themes, etc. and so not many books piss me off. But this for me, this one takes the cake. I really enjoyed Ruby Red and loved everything about it, but Sapphire Blue was such a disappointment that it made me not want to finish the trilogy.

 

 

 

 

AUGUST: Peridot – Pale Green. It pales in comparison to other gems.
Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character

e

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowel

It’s no secret that I didn’t enjoy this book. In fact I had such a book withdrawal that I didn’t pick up another book to read until three months after this. Really the saving grace of this book, for me was Levi. I’m not really sure if you would consider him a supporting character, but he is definitely not the protagonist. I just couldn’t stand Cath and I think I prefer every other character in this book besides her. Apparently I’m a minority on this topic.

 

 

 

 

SEPTEMBER: Sapphire – Blue like the ocean which is calming
Name a book that had a calming effect on you

graffiti moon

Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

It’s really not just this particular book, but almost all contemporary books that I do get around to reading. I don’t really read a ton of them, but when I do read them, they;re very calming since there’s really not much thinking that goes to reading these books. No foreign places to remember, no complex plot twist to decipher or no anxiety induced action scenes to worry about.

 

 

 

 

OCTOBER: Opal – Iridescent
Name an iridescent book, this can be a book with beautiful cover

ruby red

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

I may not like the whole trilogy, but you have to admit, the covers of these books are gorgeous!

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOVEMBER: Topaz – Associated with resilience
Name a book with a character who rises to the top in time of adversity

Hunger Games.jpg

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

This book hardly makes my list, which is weird because I really move this book. I think Katniss Everdeen is perfect for this gem. She never wanted to revolt, but when people needed her, she rose up and fought for what is right.

 

 

 

 

DECEMBER: Blue Zircon – Associated with friendship
Name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of.

HarryPotterHarry Potter by J.K Rowling

I saved this book for last because it was the most fitting. In reality I could have answered this for almost every gem in the tag, but I didn’t ^_^. Seriously though, the friendship between this three is something to be proud of. They held each other through thick and thin and their friendship has suffered more than any other friendships that I have read. So of course I want to be part of it! It also doesn’t hurt that they live in the world of Hogwarts, Hogsmead, etc.

Leave a Reply

