Eight Books Every Parent Should Introduce to their Children

toptentuesday

I love reading YA books, but I also enjoy reading middle grade books. When I’m in the bookstore I see a lot of parents who wants recommendations for their children and I always want to run up to them and grab handfuls of books to show their kids, but yea, that would just make me look weird!

Anyways, here are some books I think are really good for young readers to start with. These are not introduction to chapter books, but rather books that your young reader would like to look into as soon as they’re ready to move up the next level.

Please remember: These books are mainly action, adventure and mystery novels, so there will be mild violence in them. My age suggestion for many of these books is from 9+, but you know your child more, if you think they can handle the books, then you can pick these up for them

I’ll try not to include books that are very mainstream. So Harry Potter and Percy Jackson is out of the question. I’m not saying that they’re not good, but everyone is aware of their existence!

1. Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins
First Book: Gregor the Overlander
Yes, she’s also the same author as the Hunger Games Trilogy. To be honest tho, I love these books a lot better. They are for younger readers, but it’s very action packed!

2. Sisters Grimm by Michael Buckley
First Book: The Fairy-Tale Detectives
If you’re child loves Frozen, Cinderella and Snow White, these books might not be for them. This is a different take on the Brothers Grimm fairytales, but not as grim and similar to Disney fairytales, but with less ‘Happily Ever After’.

3. Secret Series by Pseudonymous Bosch
First Book: The Name of this Book is Secret
I love anything mystery just as long as it catches my attention. These books are unique and interesting to say the least.

4. The Neil Flambe Capers by Kevin Sylvester
First Book: Neil Flambe and the Marco Polo Murders
Your child enjoyed Ratatouille? Then, try these books by Kevin Sylvester. Its filled with mysteries and even a bit of history. Really addicting and the hero reminds me of Alfredo Linguine.

5. Chasing Vermeet by Blue Balliett
First Book: Chasing Vermeer
My guilty pleasure has always been Dan Brown’s Robert Langdon series. I know a lot of people dislike it, but to me its, well not gold, but good. These books by Balliet reminds me of the Robert Langdon series. If you enjoyed those books, maybe your child will be in love with these too.

6. Inkworld by Cornelia Funke
First Book: Inkheart
These books are a little bit more well known than other books I’ve listed, since it was made a book a couple of years ago starring Brendan Fraser. As much as I love that actor, they didn’t really do justice to the book. This trilogy is amazing!

7. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket
First Book: A Bad Beginning
This too is a popular series, but I feel that it doesn’t get as recognized as other middle grade books out there. I love everything about this series and read it long, long time ago!

8. Treasure Island by Robert Stevenson
This is not a ‘new’ book or anything, but I read this when I was a bit older, hoping that I would have read it when I was younger. Its an amazing story that all ages should read!

2 thoughts on “Eight Books Every Parent Should Introduce to their Children

  1. Gosh, talk about a throwback (haha it’s actually Thursday)! I’ve read most of these books as a kid, and love them even to this day. What’s super beautiful about rereading childhood favourites is discovering new things that you never even noticed back then.

Leave a Reply

