Heroes of Olympus: The Blood of Olympus (Book 4) by Rick Riordan

Blood of Olympus

Author: Rick Riordan
Rating: 4.5/5
Protagonist: Percy, Annabeth, Jason, Piper, Leo, Hazel, Frank
Other Character(s): Rhaena, Nico, Gleeson

Synopsis: The final battle for Percy Jackson and his friends in this last epic novel by Rick Riordan. We find the seven demi-gods in the brink of war with the Titans, which of the gods/goddess will come and help them defeat this impending doom. At the same time, the quest of Rhaena, Nico and Gleeson is on the verge of failing due to forces that is out to stop them. Will the demi-gods find the strength to defeat their foes in this last battle or fail and see both their camps burn to the ground.

Review: I was finally able to finish this series and just in time for Trials of Apollo to be release, which ties up to PJ and HOO series. If you have read my previous reviews from this series, then I think by now you have realize that I a big Riordan fan. I’ve read most his middle grade book and absolute love them! So it won’t come as a surprise when I say that Blood of Olympus was fantastic and such a great conclusion to the series, not my favorite book in it, but still amazing. I did have my share of complaints, but in the end I enjoyed reading every moment of this book and nearly broke my heart that it’s already done.

Let’s get the grittier part of the review out of the way first. As much as I proclaim my love for Blood of Olympus, I did have my share of complaints. One of them being the battle between the Titans, god/goddess and the demigods. For Riordan to build up the suspense for this battle from book one, I really did expect and epic fight between these three enemies. Unfortunately, I was mistakenly mislead. Yes, it was amazing that all the gods/goddess showed up to support their children, but it ended as abruptly as it started. I’m not really sure if my expectation was just too high, or the battle is really as dull as I remember it to be. This is pale in comparison to the other battles that Riordan included in the previous books. While I was reading this book, I had no idea that Trials of Apollo was in the works at all and so this other bit of ‘complaint’ shouldn’t really be a part of my review now, but I’ll still mention it. There was a time at the end of this book when I wanted to fling it across the room because of what Riordan did to one of the characters. Now that he included Camp Half-Blood in his new series, I’m really hoping that he will alter his ending with one of our heroes. If you’ve read this book, you’ll understand what I mean. Now that I’ve mentioned all my dissatisfaction regarding this book its safe to say that they’re minor compared to my love for this series.

I think the main reason why I love Rirodan’s books is because of all the character development and friendships that he includes in his books. Yes, the story he creates are all beautiful and intricately woven, but for me its the characters that are the main attractions. All throughout this book and the previous dour, you see the growth of each individual characters and even those who did not have their own narration shill showed their strengths. I love how both camps were able to unite with each other to fend off the attack of Gaea, and ultimately defeat her. I enjoyed the final teamwork of the three that was chosen to overthrow her reign over the land. I don’t think Leo favored the two over the others, but rather they each know the strengths and weakness of each demi-god, and this choice is crucial at the end. The end was amazing because it enable each of them to showcase their strengths, not just our main protagonists, but the other supporting characters as well. As seen in my previous reviews in this series, I really do love all the friendships and pairings that happen all throughout this series. Not only are they amazing together, but they make each other better as an individual and as a couple. I don’t really have a favorite couple, since Riordan created them all wonderfully! Of course I can’t end my review without mentioning all the friendships that was formed in this last book. It’s really hard not to become close friends between the seven protagonists considering what they have experience together, but I’m glad that the author showed us different people being included in their small circle as well. It shows that they work very well with each other, but are not afraid to be an individual, separate from the group.

As much as I hate to see this series end, I feel that the conclusion is beautifully done, which ties up many of the loose ends that was present since book one. I do believe that Riordan has exhausted this story arc and glad that he didn’t extend it any further. However, I wouldn’t mind seeing glimpses of all of my favorite characters that I grew to love in Trials of Apollo. I don’t think I would ever get tired of reading more about Percy Jackson and company.

***********************SPOILER ALERT!!*********************

Ending: I’m taking this ending and running with it. Sorry no spoiler for this book, but I do have to say…I love it!

My Reviews for Book 2, 3, 4 of Heroes of Olympus:
Son of Neptune mark of athena house of hades

One thought on “Heroes of Olympus: The Blood of Olympus (Book 4) by Rick Riordan

  1. Pingback: Best Read of 2016 |

Leave a Reply

