Tome Topple Read-A-Thon

I’m finally participating in my first ever ReadAThon between June 6 – June 19! I’m really excited about this and I can’t wait for it to start.

Samantha, from YouTube channel Thoughts on Tomes, hosted her first ever readathon, and I feel that it’s fitting enough for me to participate and support this amazing Youtuber. Plus, I think this is a great idea and would love to see how far I can go through with this.

I will also try to participate in her challenges within the Read-A-Thon. The challenges are as follows:

1. Read more than one Tome (500+)
2. Take a Graphic Novel Break
3. Read a Tome that is part of a series
4. Read over 500 pages in one week
5. Read an Adult Novel

To be honest I think I can strikeout 1-4, but I’m a bit hesitant on the last challenge. Unfortunately I don’t really have a lot adult books that’s 500+ pages, but we’ll see what happens.

Here is my tentative TBR for this challenge:

UPDATE: June 11, 2016

Finished Illuminae and Vol. I Lumberjanes: Beware of Kitten Holy and Vol. II Lumberjanes: Friendship to the Max.

illuminae

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

3.5stars Read: June 7-9, 2016

It took me awhile to get into this book, but eventually as I got used to the writing style I started enjoying myself. It’s really not an amazing read as so many say it is, but entertaining enough. It’s actually reminiscent of her previous Starbound Trilogy.

vol1 vol2

Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson

3.5stars

I don’t read a lot of graphic novels but this series has been getting a lot of hype lately and I wanted to see what the fuss is about. Actually enjoyed them. They’re hilarious and the graphics are amazing!

So far I’m doing well with this read-a-thon, was able to check off 4 of the challenge in one book ^_^

Update: June 18, 2016

I know that the challenge is technically done tomorrow, but I’m pretty sure I wont be able to finish a book from now until tomorrow night that 500+ pages. So to end it all I actually was able to finish one more book and that’s Cress.

cress

Cress by Marissa Meyer

3.5stars Read: June 13-15, 2016

I’m afraid to say it, but I’m not in love with this series as everyone seems to be. I mean it’s a great read, fantastic characters and interesting synopsis, but I feel that things drag on for too long for my liking.

All in all, I think I did really great on my first ever read-a-thon! Thanks, Sam for creating Tome Topple and hopefully you’ll continue it for next year!

 

4 thoughts on “Tome Topple Read-A-Thon

  1. Pingback: November 2016 Read-a-Thon TBR |

  2. Pingback: 2016 Dystopian Reading Challenge |

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Sci-fi and Fantasy |

Leave a Reply

