Alive by Scott Sigler

alive

Author: Scott Sigler
Rating: 3.5/5
Protagonist: Savage
Other Character(s): O’Malley Bishop, Spingate, Bello, Aramsovky, El-Saffani, Latu, Gaston

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis: What will you do if you wake up in the dark, immobile and alone? Will you wait for help or fight your way through? This is the story of a group of young men and women who woke up and their fight for survival.

Review: I haven’t been in mood to write reviews lately, they’re very tedious and so grueling to write especially since it’s been awhile since I’ve read it, but I think they’re the most important part of being a book blogger since it does allow me to recommend great books to book lovers, plus its a great way to advertise great writers!

Since I’ve just read this book and it’s pretty much fresh from my mind I decided to write a simple and honest review. Now it’s no secret that I’m part of a Goodreads group and one of our challenges this year is to read ‘hidden gems’. Basically, instead of having a monthly read that is held by vote, 12 volunteers are picked to recommend a book that is not overly popular/mainstream and the group will read that for the said month. For August we were recommended to read Alive by Scott Sigler. Now usually before I get into any book that I haven’t heard a lot about I try to do as much research on it as I can: read reviews, check out the author, etc. For this one, however, I just decided to get into it with a blind eye and I’m really glad that I did. When reading this title I was very certain this was going to be a post-apocalyptic novel, to my surprise it wasn’t. Yes, dystopian is part of the sci-fi genre, but I would not have suspected this to be more on the science-fiction theme. I’m not complaining though. I have nothing against sci-fi novels, I was just taken aback. I’m not really sure how much I want to reveal of the story because it was the mysterious aspect of the book that made me keep on reading.

In all honesty I had a rocky start with this book. I had a huge problem with the characters and their portrayal. I felt that for their ‘age’ it wasn’t realistic enough. I understand that there needed to be some type of dependence that needed to happen for story purposes, but I feel that Sigler didn’t really capture the younger ‘age’ of his characters. I also had problems with the main character. Usually I’m the type of reader who enjoys a tough, kick-ass female heroine, but for me Em was too dull. She acted on behalf of her people, but she was too predictable. She did eventually get better, but I still didn’t feel the connection. As for the other characters, I felt that her two right-hand men were written with a lot more dimension. I enjoyed seeing their growth and their maturity as the story progressed. Although, Sigler didn’t really talk a lot about his other characters in depth, I enjoyed the variety of people he does choose. Hopefully in the next book we will see more of everyone and learn more about their history. I also want to see where Sigler will go with their leader.

Off the bat I wasn’t in love with this book. There were times that I wanted to quit and DNF it, but since many of my Goodreads friends enjoyed it I figured it was worth finishing, and it was. I admit it was difficult for me to get through the first half of the book, but once the climactic event happened I was hooked! I enjoyed the concept of the book and Sigler did a great job in creating a world that makes you question life and humanity. I’m not really sure how I stand on the religious aspect of this novel, and I feel that it’s out of place in the setting. I have nothing against religion, but with this type of novel I really don’t think that it was worth including, unless the author has plans for it in the second book. Even though it seems like I complained way too much about this book, it is actually a good read and worthy of our ‘hidden gem’ category. Hopefully the second book will be just as interesting and enjoyable to read.

***********************SPOILER ALERT!!*********************

Ending: As much as I love including endings in my reviews, I feel that this one needs to remain a secret. I enjoyed reading this with no knowledge of anything regarding the book and I think it would make a difference on your reading experience.

 

Leave a Reply

