Buried in a Book (Book 1) by Lucy Arlington

burried in a book

Author: Lucy Arlington
Rating: 3/5
Protagonist: Lila Wilkins
Other Character(s): Trey, Makayla, Sean, Marlette, Iris

Synopsis: The small town of inspiration Valley has everything that Lila needs to raise her teens son and renew her career. Unfortunately, on her first day on the job a wannabe author drops dead right in their agency.

Review: I’ve been in a cozy mystery kick since the beginning of the year. I can’t seem to fill my need for them and I feel like I’m devouring them left and right. I’m not complaining, it actually has gotten me passed my reading goal for the year on Goodreads. Anyways, like I said I’ve been inhaling these books like non-stop and Buried in a Book is one series that I’ve been enjoying. It’s been a few months since I first picked up the first book in the series and every since then it has captivated me. I admit its not as great as some of the other cozies I’ve read, but I really do love the small town that Arlington has created for her readers, the characters aren’t bad either. Yes, there are flaws and disappointments in her books, but overall I’m quite glad I had the chance to start this series.

Although her books are quite entertaining, its not flawless. There are points that aggravated me and wanted to shake some of the characters. As much as I do enjoy all the people Arlington includes in here, the protagonist did annoy me a bit. I like Lila enough that I kept reading the series, even if she does get better eventually, this book had me hating her. I felt that she complained about everything from her child’s behavior to her mother’s eccentricity, but at the same time she just kept on cuddling her child as if he’s still 5. With actions should come consequences and I feel that Trey got away with too many things just because he’s a teen. I feel that if she will complain he’s behavior, she at least will try to educate him of his error, not just get up and leave. I feel that Lila did this to everything else, she just lets everything lay low until the very last moment. I think Arlington keeps creating these scenarios for our protagonist and then gives it a quick fix. I did enjoy the assortment of characters that Arlington introduces, I’m not overly attached to them on this first book, but I eventually grew to enjoy every single one of them.

I have mentioned before I really love the setting of this little town. I love the thriving town with it’s unique stores and even more so, the unique names that the author gives them. I especially love Espresso Yourself, not a coffee drinker myself, but a cute and little cafe that you can loose yourself in. Besides this lovely town, I did enjoy the mystery that Arlington included in this novel. It’s not an Agatha Christie novel, but it did get me thinking who the culprit could be. I did prefer that she created a better backstory between the victim and the murderer, since I do feel like the author became lazy at that one point. I felt that her reasoning is weak and made it look as if this back story was an after thought.

As I’ve stated in my previous reviews, I’m very much attracted to cozy mysteries that have adorable towns with a fascinating and eclectic set of characters, Arlington provides this for me. Although I do have my complaints, I can push them aside and I’m able to absorb myself in the community and the mystery.

***********************SPOILER ALERT!!*********************

Ending: We find out that Luella and Marlette have previous connections. Marlette was actually Luella’s professor during her college years. Wanting to ruin his career, in order for her to still Marlett’s perfect manuscript, she pretended to have been sexually harassed by him, thus ending his teaching status in the college.

Years later they meet again in Inspiration Valley where Luella successfully steals his novel and tries to pass it off someone else’s novel. This will enable her to keep the profits for herself. Unfortunately, Marlette, now a vagrant, has been harassing the literary agency that Luella and Lila represents, fearing discovery, she kills the promising author with a lethal dose of bee venom, knowing his severe allergic reaction.

 

Leave a Reply

