Top Ten All Time Favorite Fantasy Novels

toptentuesday

Hello Everyone and welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday! For this week were to list our 10 favorite books in a specific genre, we were able to sub-divide the genre if we wanted to. Yes, it’s quite hard to pick 10 book in one genre, but I think it’s doable.

Most would think that I would pick Mystery since it is my favorite genre, but for this Top Ten I think I will make it a bit difficult for me and choose fantasy instead. I will sub-divide this category into two: High/Epic Fantasy and Urban Fantasy.

Here is my list:

URBAN FANTASY:

HarryPotter

Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling

No list of mine would ever be complete if these books are not in it. I love the world, the characters and the way Rowling interweaves her story to connect all of the seven books. This too me is perfection!

percy

Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan

I love all of Riordan’s books that I have read, by the Percy Jackson series takes the cake. I enjoy the concept of the Gods still around us and still manipulating peoples actions. I enjoy how this worlds just keeps growing and growing, with more characters being added as the different series progress.

gregor

The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins

I admit that I only picked this up because I loved Collins’ The Hunger Games, but I’ve actually grown to love this series more than the former. I feel that this book has a lot more depth and the characters evolve with each passing novel. When I read this book, I feel that I am actually transported in the Underland and I’m alongside the protagonist. I highly recommend this for middle grade readers.

sisters grimm

The Sister’s Grimm Series by Michael Buckley

I love reading anything fairytales, from the gory original ones to the cuter fantasy re-telling of Disney. For me fairytales is fairytales. This series that Buckley has created is actually a very enjoyable and entertaining read for those who wants something different. I love the two protagonist in these books and they actually show many traits that I adore on my kick-ass heroine.

pendragon

The Pendragon Cycle by D.J. MacHale

This is actually one series that I have not talked about on this blog, but is one of the series that I have enjoyed reading growing up. Yes, there is elements of sci-fi in this novel, but for the most part, for me anyways, I have always associated it to fantasy. Just like the other books I’ve listed here, I love the protagonist, the worlds Machale created and all the diverse people he has created. This is actually one series that I need to re-read sometime soon.

HIGH/EPIC FANTASY:

Poison Study

The Study Series by Maria Snyder

I admit I didn’t really read all the books in this series yet, but this book is definitely on my favorite list. If you enjoy reading The Throne of Glass, then this is a must read on your TBR. The protagonist is lovable, but still the type that you can’t help but admire.

hobbit

The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien

I’m not sure you can create a Favorite Fantasy List without having at least one of Tolkien’s novels. His writing is magnificent and you can’t help but love the world that he has created, we all know as Middle Earth. If you’re a fantasy enthusiast then Tolkien is definitely your guy!

graceling

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

This is another book that I haven’t finished all the books, but like Poison Study, this book is amazing! Since it can be a stand a lone it doesn’t really need to co-exist with the other two in its trilogy. That being said, the world that Cashore created is vibrant and beautiful and her written words is just as amazing. She is able to transport you from one world to another.

alanna

Song of the Lioness by Tamora Pierce

I know it seems like I read nothing by strong female lead, but I really don’t. I want this list to be a bit more diverse, but I also have to stay true to what I love and enjoy reading. These books are actually a must read for anyone who loves reading. The world that Pierce creates in her novels will make Tolkien proud.

the-thief

The Queen’s Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

This is another series that is a must re-read for me. It’s been awhile since I’ve read these books and its high time that I get to them again. I love everything about these books, the characters are superbly written and the world that Turner created is just as beautiful.

That’s it for this weeks TTT. Let me know if you have any fantasy novel that you totally love and recommend for me to try. See you next week!

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten All Time Favorite Fantasy Novels

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Sci-fi and Fantasy |

Leave a Reply

