The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

cuckoos-calling

Author: Robert Galbraith
Rating: 3.5/5
Protagonist: Cormoran Strike
Other Character(s): Lula Landry, Robin Ellacott, John Bristow, Tony Landry, Evan Duffield, Freddy Bestigui

SynopsisWhen the famous model, Lula Bristow, fell to her death in her apartment, everyone pegged it down to her drug habit addiction. Her brother however was not convinced. Employing Strike to investigate her death, we are brought to the events of her life, days before her deathly plunge. As the private eye tries to uncover the truth he is faced with a much more sinister ending.

Review: This book has been on my TBR since it first came out. Three books into the series and I’m still trying to start it. At last I was finally in the mood for it and was able to start and finish it. I admit the only reason I became interested in ths book was because of the author. Would have I picked it up if Robert Galbraith is not the author that I love so much? I’m not 100% sure about that answer. Fortunately for me, I did know who the author is and I did read it. Unfortunately for the book, it did not impress me the way I thought it would. I’m not saying I hated it, but rather, it just wasn’t up to the standards of my expectation.

As usual, lets start with the negative points. I enjoy reading mystery novels and I’ve read my fair share of them to know what I like and don’t like. The Cuckoo’s Calling was way too slow for my liking. I understand this is a first in a series, therefore a lot of background work needed to be established, but the book could have been cut down in half in my opinion. I think the author included too many of Strike’s background story and as much as I do enjoy him as a protagonists, I think all those information were unnecessary since it didn’t really pertain to the story at hand. However, this author is well known for using information in her future books, so we’ll see maybe some of these useless facts are actually important. What I did want is more information about Robin, I actually enjoyed her character and she brings forth a connection between the book and the readers. She’s a lot more relatable compared to the hero of the book, and hopefully we will see more of her in future books.

This brings us to the next part of my review. Even with the slow pace of the book I’m actually surprised I was able to finish it, and by the end of it I actually started enjoying my reading experience. It’s definitely different from the author’s previous popular books, but you can still see her writing style within the pages. I enjoyed the mystery surrounding the death of Lula, and I was guessing on the events leading up to her death until almost the end. The writing really does grab you in the world of the victim and makes you wonder all throughout the book on what could have happened to the beautiful model. I’m usually very good at determining the ending of a mystery book, but this one left me scratching my head almost up to the end.

I’m always a fan of the way our author writes her characters, she’s always able to bring them to life with mere words. A lot of authors are able to do this, but this author has a way of creating them flawlessly and fluidly. As she describes all her characters you get the feeling of knowing them personally and she does this very well, especially with her heroes. The author always creates her heroes with a burden, but one who is able to defeat the obstacles place before them. Strike is not perfect, of course, but then I feel that he was able to charm me, almost like the beloved hero of the authors previous best seller. Strike also reminds me of the famous detective, Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot. The way he problem solves and tries to figure out how to connect the dots to create a bigger picture. So obviously enough I’m in love with his character and can’t wait to read more of him on the next book.

Besides the slow pacing of this book, I really can’t imagine anything else wrong with it. There are so many more pros reading this series, therefore, obviously enough I’ll be continuing on.

***********************SPOILER ALERT!!*********************

Ending: The mystery of this book is the reason why I enjoyed the book. I’m not really sure if I should reveal the ending.

Just think of Lula’s brother.

One thought on “The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

  1. Pingback: Best Read of 2016 |

Leave a Reply

