#BorrowaThon Wrap-up

It’s now Monday, November 14, 2016 at 9:45pm in Toronto, and I have just literally finished my 5th and last novel for the #BorrowaThon readathon. It was such a fun and amazing experience and I hope @rmfickfack will host another one in the near future!

There were no actual challenge to this readathon, but you were able to participate in a variety of events such as reading sprints, social media discussions and live chats on Twitter. I was able to participate in the reading sprints and the live chants, which I think is an awesome way to meet new people!

Anyways, I read a total of five books. I’m actually really surprised because I was able to read 4 of the 5 books that I listed on my TBR, which I didn’t think it would have been possible. Mind you these books were all short and all easy read.

Here are the 5 books I read and a short description on my thoughts on each book! (I’m listing them in reading order, from the first to the last book I read)

The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

assassins-curse

Rating: 3/5 Stars

As much as I enjoyed reading this novel, I wasn’t all that blown away by the authors writing. It was simple and almost had a middle grade quality to it. I’m not bashing her content, because they were really well done and descriptive, but I feel that she was trying to make the book simple to incorporate more readers. I also wished that there would have been more magical quality in our heroine, from the description on Goodreads, I thought Ananna was going to unleash a power within her, but yea. Anyways, it’s not all bad. I really did enjoy the Pirates of the Caribbean feel to the book and enjoyed the seafaring adventure. I’m curious enough with Ananna’s and Naji’s story to continue on to the last book in the duology.

Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro

confessions

Rating: 2/5 Stars

I’ve read a couple of James Patterson’s books, both YA and adult, and I have to admit its always a hit and miss for me. I did enjoy his adult novels of the Women’s Murder Club, but wasn’t fond of his YA novel, The Maximum Ride Series. So obviously enough, when I saw this YA murder mystery book I was like ‘yes, please’. Unfortunately, my expectation for this book fell flat. I wasn’t able to connect to any of the Angel kids and as much as I did enjoy the mystery surrounding the death of Tandi’s parents, the ending of the mystery was such a let down. Also, there were aspects of this book that just wasn’t what I expected and they really were not a welcome addition. It’s safe to say I’m most likely not going to be picking up the next three books in the series.

Death of a Trophy Wife by Laura Levine

death-of-a-trophy-wife

Rating: 3/5 Stars

I’ve been reading this series none stop this year and I think I’ve finally hit my breaking point. As much as I enjoy the protagonist, Jaine, I think I need to put this series down for the year and focus on other books. I feel like these books are starting to become repetitive and when this starts to happen, I know I’ve worn myself on the series. That being said I enjoyed the book as much as I could. Of course Jaine’s antics always gets a chuckle from me and I’m glad the author included more of her friends in this book than the previous ones. That being said, I think this will be the last book I’ll be reading in this series for awhile.

Off the Books by Lucy Arlington

off-the-book

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

I actually won’t have the same problem with this series as I did on the previous book because this is the last book in the series thats out, and I really loved it! Yes, I still have my hesitation with Lila, but she’s starting to grow on me. Not as much as the other characters, but slowly she’s winning me over. I really do love the other characters in this book, especially Makayla. The mystery in this book was well thought out. I enjoyed every moment of it and I’m happy with the outcome. That being said, I wish Arlington will hurry up and release more of her books next year. Maybe three more? Pretty please ^_^

Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter

uncommon-criminals

Rating 4/5 Stars

It’s been awhile since I picked up an Ally Carter book and I think this is such a perfect time for me to do so. Her books are always such a quick read for me. They’re light, fun and so exciting to read. I enjoyed this book from beginning to the end and the fact that she’s making a 4th book in the series is definitely the icing on top! Like I said I enjoyed this book and I’m happy to see the old gang back. The heist that they pulled off in this book seemed impossible and Carter did such an amazing job conveying all the difficult stunts that the teens had to pull off. I really wasn’t sure if I will be able to finish this book on time for the deadline, but I just couldn’t put it down and so glad about that! Although I do rave about how amazing this book is, I won’t be picking up the next book until I know the fourth one is out.

***

That is a wrap for my #BorrowaThon books. I really had an amazing time doing this readathon and will definitely participate on the future ones.

Let me know if you guys participated and what are the books you read.

 

 

 

One thought on “#BorrowaThon Wrap-up

  1. Pingback: Best Read of 2016 |

Leave a Reply

