#TomeTopple Wrap-up

The end of the month was very hectic for me and I was unable to write a wrap up for the readathon I participated in between November 18 – December 1, 2016. The Tome Topple Readathon is hosted by a bunch of people but was ultimately created by Samantha on Thoughts on Tomes. Click here for my TBR post.

This is actually the second time I participated in it and enjoyed it as much as I did during the first round. Basically, the rules are simple. Read as many tome, books over 500+ pages, as you possibly can. You can read 5 books or even 1 book, there are no specifications since this is only to help out cross off those chunkier books. There are five challenges that the creator included and it is up to the person if they want to participate or not.

The challenges are:

  1. Read more than one tome
  2. Read a graphic novel more than 500+ pages
  3. Read a tome that’s part of a series
  4. Buddy read a Tome
  5. Read an adult novel

All in all I actually did a pretty good job and was able to check off 3 of the 5 challenges. Unfortunately, I didn’t find a graphic novel I wanted to read that has 500+ pages. Also, I didn’t get to buddy read with anyone because the books I chose were older books.

Anyways, here are the books I read for #TomeTopple:

Winter by Marissa Meyer

winter

Rating: 4.5/5

I’ve had my misgivings with this series. As much as everyone loves these books, I was never in the same band wagon as them, until Winter. I love everything about this book and I feel that Meyer was able to end her story in a respectful way. Nothing is concrete, but everything was answered. My one complaint will have to be the two main protagonists in this book, I’m not really sure how I feel about Winter and Jacin, since the book did incorporate a lot of the other characters POV, I feel that I wasn’t able to get to know them as well as the other six. It’s safe to say though, they’re not my favourite couple, I still prefer Scarlet and Wolf. On a better note, I did start to enjoy Cinder’s character. I’ve had my hesitation with her as the heroine of the series, but she definitely came out of her shell in this book. I will also give a personal pat on the back, since I was able to finish the series this year. I actually had no intention of reading this for the Tome Topple, even though it does meet the requirements of the readathon, the 800+ page is very daunting. The good thing is after a couple of chapters, I was basically hook and couldn’t put it down! Can’t wait to read her next series.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo

Rating: 4/5

This was another book that I didn’t really intend to read this year, but the opportunity arose and I had to grab it. As much as I love mystery books, I don’t usually read books like this. Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed it, even if the book was detail-oriented, I was still able to absorb everything in. There are some topics that makes me really uncomfortable to read about and this book basically was 90% of it. I had my hesitations, but by then I was already invested in the story and needed to answers to my questions. The business and political aspects of this book was a little bit hard to digest, since I’m not really into those types books, but the mystery well made up for it. I love both the protagonists and our heroine is amazing. She’s definitely not your common, pretty-girl-next-door type, and that made her more interesting. As much as I enjoyed the book and highly recommend it to mystery enthusiast, I might not end up reading the other two books. My word is not set in stone, so don’t quote me on that. Maybe eventually I would want to read them.

***

Ta-da! And there you have it. My wrap up for #TomeTopple readathon. I’m pretty proud of myself being able to tackle these two books, especially the last one since its been in my TBR in forever!

2 thoughts on “#TomeTopple Wrap-up

  1. Pingback: Best Read of 2016 |

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Sci-fi and Fantasy |

Leave a Reply

