TBR Challenge #1: Short Shorts

stars-above

Stars Above by Marissa Meyer
Rating: 3.5/5

Theme: Short Stories, Novellas, Romance, etc. Any short books.

Why?: I chose Stars Above for two reasons: 1. It’s a short story and 2. I really want to finish this series ASAP. This book has been on my TBR since it first came out and finally, finally, I can proudly say I finish this series!

Review: I was never a die hard fan of the Lunar Chronicles, but I did enjoy them. Also, the last book basically sold me on the series. This bind up of novellas featuring Meyer’s popular series is a hit or miss for me. I enjoyed seeing the whole group again, but some of the stories within were not my favorite. I didn’t really feel that all the stories added anything new to the main story arc as a whole. I do have my favorite characters with the 6 main, so I tended to favor the stories that included them. The main reason why I enjoyed the last book because of the comradeship between the characters and the last story featured this same connection, therefore, it safe to say I loved the last story the most. I’m finding a trend here, I tend to enjoy Meyer’s last stories all the time.

I also really love the second last story of Kai’s perspective on his first encounter with Cinder. I wasn’t a fan of the first book, but it was sweet and cute to see the two characters interaction from Kai’s perspective. I applaud her in creating this scenario as a short story rather than writing a whole book of the same story and selling it as a ‘new’ book.

Well, that is that, and I’m really happy that I finished this series. YAY! *celebratory dance with confetti*

Reviews on: Scarlet and Winter

One thought on “TBR Challenge #1: Short Shorts

Leave a Reply

