Motif Challenge: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E Scwab

darker shade of magic

Author: V.E Schab
Rating: 3.5/5
Protagonist: Kell, Delilah

Synopsis: Kell is a traveller, but not the kind that we know. She is able to move between dimensions or specifically different Londons. As a travellers he delivers notes from one monarchy to another. Unfortunately, he is also in the business of smuggling items to those who are willing to pay with treasures from their world. When he is caught during a deal gone wrong, he must fix his mistake before his world and the other Londons are destroyed.

Review: I’ve been wanting to read this book for sometime, but I’ve been putting it off month after month. Since the last book will be released this year I decided to finally pick it up at the start of the year. I want to try to read all three books this year. I don’t have much to complain about this book, I had a great reading experience, but at the same time, I didn’t love it as much as everyone did. I think my expectations were a tad too high.

One of the main reason why I picked this book up is because of the hype surrounding V.E Schwab. She’s a very popular author amongst the BookTubers. So obviously, I had to try one of her books out. To be honest, I don’t think I like this as much as other readers do. I know its a big deal with bloggers, youtubers and book lovers, but for me I wasn’t as amazed by it. Don’t get me wrong, I love the way she writes, but this book really is more of a background story, so it dragged a bit in the beginning. Since it did take awhile for the story to pick up, I didn’t fully enjoy my reading experience until half way into the book. I know all the introductory story is important to understand the world of Kell, but I would have enjoyed it even more if the main story had more length. I felt that the actual story of Kell and Lila was a bit rushed, especially the ending, I wanted a more extravagant battle. Other than that, I have no other problems.

As soon as the main story of the book came into play, I was hooked and couldn’t put the book down. Besides the fact that ending left me underwhelmed, I still enjoyed the story as a whole. I love the way V.E Schwab was able to re-create four different Londons and how each of them were unique from the environment to the people. The story is intricately woven to create one amazing story of adventure, magic and mystery. I also really enjoyed the different characters that Schwab introduced in this book. Kell is an amazing protagonist and I can’t wait to read more about him. I also really liked Lila, she brings something different to the whole story and I love how Schwab gave her a ‘devil-may-care’ attitude.

I know I gave this book such a low rating, but I really wasn’t impressed with the first half of this book, but after that, it was an amazing read. I really can’t wait to read the next two books into this trilogy. Hopefully, I’ll be able to pick up the next two book this year.

***********************SPOILER ALERT!!*********************

Ending: In Kell’s world there is four different Londons, each consisting of the same layout but with different levels of magic. Grey London had long forgotten magic, Red London magic is flourishing, White London is being overcome by magic and finally Black London has been overcome by magic. Black London used magic to try to over rule to the Londons in order to contain them, Red London sealed them close. Unfortunately, White London is the closest to Black London and they are in charge of keeping them at bay, which consequently is draining them of their life.

Kell, being an Antari, was tricked into smuggling a forbidden stone that is from Black London. Since Black London is a taboo place, any relics from this place is unwelcome in any of the Londons in fear of spreading the dark magic within it. Lila coerce Kell into letting her help him bring the stone back to its original place. Since Atari’s are the only ones who can move from one London to the other, we are led to believe that this stone helped her through her adventure, until the very end. Dun, dun, dun. Let’s leave it at that!

Leave a Reply

