TBR Challenge #2: New to You Author

i-see-you

I See You by Clare Mackintosh
Rating: 3/5

Theme: New to you Author

WHY?: I’ve always love reading mystery books. I’ve been addicted to Agatha Christie since I was in high school. Then I moved to cozy mysteries, which obviously enough I love cozies and read them regularly. It’s only just been recently that I started picking up thrillers, ever since I read Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. I didn’t like that book as much as I wanted to, but at least it got me to read more thrillers. That aside, I saw this book while I was on the train and I thought it looked really good. The cover hand me at first sight, when I read the synopsis, BOOM, hook, line and sinker!

This is also the first book I’ve read from Clare Mackintosh. I enjoyed her writing style, but the story left me underwhelmed. I heard this book is not as good as her debut novel, maybe I’ll try that one eventually.

Review: Zoe takes the train everyday to and from work. She takes the same train, sit on the same sit and walk towards work the same way. Unknown to her, she was being watched and her movements has been secretly monitored. I wasn’t a fan of this book. I really thought the story would take on a different path, unfortunately it didn’t take the way I wanted to. This book had a feeling of voyeurism and it did give me the creeps. Since I was reading this during my train ride to and from work, it made me almost paranoid that this could be happening. Still gives me the chills. That being said that was the only plus side for the book. I really thought it was a similar to You by Caroline Kepnes, a psychological thriller which totally messed me up for a few days. I guess that’s really my fault and not the authors, I shouldn’t have expected anything. So this rating is really a personal rating and not on the content or writing of the author.

I don’t really want to end this review on a bad note because the author really did a good job writing this book. I love the characters she created and at times the book did leave me in a creepy mood. So I have to give her props for it.

2 thoughts on “TBR Challenge #2: New to You Author

  1. I quite liked I Let You Go, her debut, but I felt it went off the rails a bit at the end. Like…the whole slow-mounting horror of the piece turned into this fast-paced ripper of a book and it took me aback. That said, I really enjoyed the read.

Leave a Reply

