#TBR Takedown 5.0 Wrap-up

TBR Takedown.jpg

In January I’ve been looking all over the place for a readathon I could participate in for this month, fortunately enough someone was able to tell me about #TBRTakedown! I had such a fun time participating in this readathon, but didn’t read as many books as I wanted to.

Here are the challenges:

  1. TBR Shelf for Over a Year
  2. Most Recent Book Haul
  3. First Book in a Series
  4. Catch up on a Series
  5. Out of your Comfort Zone

This was my actual TBR for the readathon, I’ve never actually read 5 books in one week, but I was feeling overly confident and pumped up.

16464570_1888313834723589_6106369053008330752_n

I’m a bit disappointed that my pumped up attitude deflated throughout the week. I’ve just been so busy with work and life that things just slipped up. I feel like last week passed way too quickly for my liking.

I was able to read 2 of the 5 books I planned on reading. In fairness I actually read the 2 books that’s been on my bookshelf forever! In reading these books I was able to cross-off two challenges. Here the books I was able to read:

storm-front

Storm Front
Author: Jim Butcher
Rating: 3.5/5
Challenge: Out of my Comfort Zone

When I look at this book I see sci-fi fantasy and since I have never read a book in this genre, I thought it would be out of my comfort zone. I was pleasantly surprised when I started reading it, and realized that it was urban fantasy. Therefore, it doesn’t really fulfil in that category, fortunately enough it does fulfil another category of the challenge: TBR shelf for over a year.

Review: This book has been on my shelf in forever and I was finally able to pick it up and read. This is actually the first adult urban fantasy I’ve read and I quite enjoyed it. I’m not a fan of the world building in this book because there are certain things that weren’t fully explained such us the Never World. I would have preferred that Butcher at least tried to touch up on it, but I figured he will since this is actually the first in a series. There are also other things that was introduced within, such as the White Council, but wasn’t fully explained. Like I said, a small chapter should have been given to explaining the wizarding world, which would have allowed me to understand everything a bit more. That being said, I still really enjoyed the book.

Harry is a wizard. He is also for hire. He investigates things that goes bump in the night and the unexplained. Occasionally, he would also act as a independent consultant in certain investigations that cannot be explained scientifically. In this first book, Harry was brought in to help find the suspect in abnormal death of multiple victims.

Although I found the world building to be lacking. I still enjoyed the mystery of the deaths. The ending was anti-climatic for me, but the other parts were funny to read. I enjoyed Harry as a main character, but he reminded me more of an adolescent teen, rather than a full grown adult. I didn’t really mind since his insecurities tended to be realistic. He never did question his ability as a wizard but more of his interactions with others. Which in his personal lifestyle the insecurities in understandable. I’m not at all sure how I feel about the other characters. Butcher didn’t really go into too many details about them, except for Mac, who I adore! Most likely I will  be continuing with this series so I’ll keep everyone up to date.

world after

World After
Author: Susan Ee
Rating 3/5
Challenge: Catch up on a Series

It’s been a while since I read the first book in this series and I loved it! It was actually the first angel book I’ve read during that ‘Angel’ phenomenon and it was the only I read. That aside, I know I wanted to continue this series, but it took me years to pick this book up. Either way reading this book allowed me to tick off the ‘Catch up in a series’ category of the challenges. Best feeling in the world when I finished this book!

Review: Like I said, I really enjoyed Angelfall and immediately wanted to pick this book up. Unfortunately, other books got in the way and I wasn’t able to read this until now, which I might say AGAIN, BEST. FEELING. EVER! Anyways, I was disappointed that this book didn’t blow me away as much as the first book. Angelfall was very unique and interesting at the time I read it and inhaled the book in a day. I think the main reason I didn’t enjoy this book is because of Penryn’s attitude towards her sister, Paige. I was so annoyed and disgusted at how Ee handled Penryn’s reaction on her sister’s surgeries. It was bad enough other acted the way they did, but her sister too much for a seven years-old. That being said, I still enjoy Penryn as a heroine. Besides her attitude, I love her as the kick-as heroine she is. Since I read the first book so long ago, I actually forgot so many of the characters especially Dee and Dum. I actually regret that because these two were the highlight for me in this book. I love the humor they bring in this dystopian world.

As for the progression of the story, it’s good enough that I want to continue the series. I won’t go into details on what happens in this book because it will reveal a lot from the first book.

***

That’s it for me for this readathon. Great to be a part of it and can’t wait for the next one and hopefully I’ll be able to read 5 books.

One thought on “#TBR Takedown 5.0 Wrap-up

  1. Pingback: February Wrap-up and March TBR 2017 |

Leave a Reply

