SERIES SUNDAY: Jasper Dent Trilogy by Barry

Jasper Dent is the son of a famous serial killer. He knows everything that needs to know about becoming like his father, but choose to be a the good guy. In these stories, Jasper tries to help the local police to solve different cases that involves serial killers.

That description doesn’t really do justice to these books because these are amazing and it just gets better and better with each book. I’ve read my fair share of mystery books that is geared to the YA audience, but these books, by far, are the best.

Reasons for Reading this Trilogy:

  • CHARACTERS: I enjoyed all the characters in this book from the protagonist, Jasper Dent, all the way to the villains, Bill Dent. I love the way Lyga created his characters, it all very thought out and they grow from book to book.
  • VILLAIN: I understand that I already included the villains in my character reason, but I believe they needed to be even more highlighted as one of the reason to read this trilogy. I believe that its very difficult to create a villain that can give readers the chills, but Lyga was able to create not one, not two, but several villains that keeps you on your toes.
  • ENDING: The ending is amazing. Technically, there are two endings and both are equally amazing. I enjoy these types of ending when there is a concrete end to the stories of each characters that I hold dearly.
  • FRIENDSHIPS: We don’t really see a lot of friendships in these types of books, but the one that Jasper and Howie have is amazing. I enjoy their relationship a lot more than the love interest, although the relationship of Jasper and Connie is just as amazing.

Recommend for:

  • Readers who enjoys mystery and crime novels
  • Readers who enjoys good friendships in stories
  • Those who enjoy mysteries with serial killers
  • Fans of Criminal Minds and How To get away with Murder

Not Recommended for:

  • Readers who doesn’t like descriptive crime scenes
  • Those who doesn’t enjoy twist ending
  • Sensitive topic on violence on wormen, sexual abuse and female oppression. Not suggested for those who do not deal with these types of topics

Book Reviews: Blood of my Blood

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s