Motif Challenge: Undercover Thriller – Her Every Fear by Peter Swanson

her-every-fear

Rating: 2/5
Protagonist: Kate Priddy

Synopsis: Kate experiences anxiety attacks and panic attacks, especially when her ex-boyfriend decided to kidnap her and lock her up. Wanting to get away from her surroundings she decided to swap homes with her long-distant cousin in America. Unfortunately, when she gets there, things start to become just as complicated and just as sinister as what she has left back home.

Review: I’m not sure if I’m being a little bit hard on my rating because I did enjoy some parts of the book and it did leave me in a suspenseful mess in the end, but I was really disappointed in the main character. I’m not really sure what about her I couldn’t connect with. For me, she was a very dull character, there really wasn’t much depth to her personality and I feel that the author focused too much on her anxieties that she didn’t really leave for anything else. I actually enjoyed the other POV of the other characters present in the book and those were the parts that left me in a creepy situation. The second half of the book is a lot more suspenseful than the first half.

As for the mystery/thriller part of the book, as I’ve said the last few chapters were a lot more interesting. I think the end really tied up the whole story and filled the cracks in between the stories of each of the other POV’s. I wasn’t at all surprised who the murderer is, but the twist at the reason why, was unforeseen.

I think this is one of the shortest reviews I’ve written, but really there’s not much to read. If you read the synopsis on Goodreads, that technically sums up the whole story, they really should change that.

***********************SPOILER ALERT!!*********************

Ending: The end is what really made this book for me. So I’m not really sure I should spoil people for it, but oh well, the killer is the friend.

Leave a Reply

