TBR Challenge #3: Comfort Read Subgenre

plaster and poison

Plaster and Poison by Jennie Bentley
Series: A Do-it-Yourself Mystery #3
Rating: 3/5

Theme: Comfort Read Sub-genre

Why? If you’ve been to my blog before, you know that my genre preference is Mystery. I love everything that has to do with mystery, but my go-to within the mystery genre is cozy mystery. If I’m in a reading funk or I just want a quick read I always try to pick up my favourite cozy mystery. Fortunately there are thousands of cozy mysteries that has a wide variety of topics. One of these days I most likely will do a list of my favourite cozies.

For those who do not know what cozy mysteries are its basically just a story that doesn’t have too much gore or violence. Yes, there usually is murder, but typically there isn’t any graphic details on the crime scene. Also, most cozies that I have read revolves one specific protagonist, but there are other recurring characters. Basically, it’s like a t.v show, but in book format. Most of the time, one book focus on one mystery, but sometimes it does touch on a bigger story arc, but is not necessarily a major story. Therefore, technically, you don’t need to read the books in order. It will be helpful to start with the first book, however, since most of the time the main and recurring character(s) are described in depth.

Review: Avery Baker left New York City to start a business with her boyfriend Derek Ellis’. What started out as their usual home renovation ended up as a murder mystery, when Avery found a dead body in the soon-to-be new home of Kate and Wayne. Now, not only is she on a tight schedule to finish the house, she must also try to find a killer who is trying to ruin the lives of her closest friends.

I actually really enjoyed the third book in this series and most likely will continue reading them. The first two didn’t really get me love the series, and truth be told, this one didn’t either, but at least I enjoyed it enough to keep on going.

I’m still not entirely sure how to feel about the characters since I haven’t really connected to a particular one, not even the protagonist. I’m not really sure what it is about Avery that ticks me off, but I feel that she’s a bit too whinny, especially in this book. I understand that Avery’s reaction to her boyfriend’s ex-wife is realistic, but I would have hoped that there was less of it.

All in all the book was a pretty good cozy. I enjoyed the mystery and can’t wait to see what happens to the next book.

Leave a Reply

