TBR Challenge/Motif Challenge #5: Something Different/Book to Movie

everything everything

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Rating: 3.5/5

Why? I’m not the type who reads contemporary romance. It’s just really not my thing, I basically have less than 10 books on my shelf from this genre and I’ve read only 3 of these books, well 4 now. So I think this will qualify as ‘Something Different’ for me.

I’m also cheating this month because this can also qualify for my Motif Challenge that I’m doing which is read a book-to-movie novel.

Review: I’m pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed this book. It’s an easy read with a cute cast of characters, I mean there really aren’t that many, but I enjoyed those that Yoon included in her book. As far as protagonists go, I’m not a big fan of Maddy, I enjoyed her enough, but I really wasn’t that happy with her by the end. I understand the anger, I just don’t understand the hate. I’m not at all pleased that the author chalked up all rebellious as ‘it’s a teenage thing’. I would like to think that not all teens are like that. As far as the love interest, I’m also indifferent towards him. He’s not really swoon worthy or anything, but I do love the fact that he protects the people he cares about.

The one thing I did enjoy, for the majority of the book, is Maddy’s relationship with her mom and nurse, Carla. In fact my favorite character in the whole book is the nurse. I love the mother figure that Carla represent and the connection that she has with the protagonist. I did wish that there was some type of conclusion between her and her daughter, but unfortunately Yoon didn’t think it was pertinent to the story to include an ending for them.

This book reminded me of Romeo and Juliet as I was reading it, but with a modern twist. I’ve read better contemporary romance, but it’s still entertaining enough that a lot of people enjoyed it. I’m glad that the author decided to include different media formats, which I think helped me enjoy the book more. The first half of the book was great but after the climactic event, the book kinda went downhill for me.

I’m not really sure if I’ll be watching the movie, but I might look out for Yoon’s other book when it comes out.

Leave a Reply

