The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney

the girl before

Author: J.P. Delaney

Rating: 3.5/5

Protagonist: Emma and Jane

Synopsis: The house is beautiful, its everything a renters dream of acquiring. its modern, sleek and affordable, unfortunately there’s one catch, you must abide to the rules of the builder. Jane first stumble on to this property she was instantly hooked, but as days progress she learns more and more about the house, the builder and Emma, the girl before her.

Review: Ever since I read The Girl on the Train I was hooked into thriller novels. I might not have like Paula Hawkins famous novel, but at least it opened up a whole new sub-genre for me. When I first picked this book up I was a bit apprehensive about it because it didn’t really seem as interesting as the other thrillers I’ve read. I’m pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed this book a lot more than the others I’ve read.

The one difficulty that I do have in some of the thriller that I’ve read is the representation of certain characters. I feel that most authors represent one or both genre in a bad light. Β It’s either they make all the female characters bad or all the male characters bad or both, this one wasn’t different from the rest. There was no one male character in the whole book that represented in a good light, which I think I would have enjoyed it a lot more if the author decided to include one great male character. I also wasn’t a fan of the two protagonist. Jane is a lot better than Emma by the end, since a lot more women can relate to Jane. However, I still found her to be cunning and deceiving. Although, I wasn’t a fan any of the characters, the gave props to the author for the twist and turns of his story.

I always enjoy a mystery that makes you think and what you have concluded is totally wrong from the actual outcome. This is what happened to me for this book. The ending was totally unexpected and it really did creep me out. This is the reason why I don’t want to live in a house! Anyways, the story line is what sold me to this book. Even though I’m not a fan of the characters, they did make the book great. Each character and their personalities was utilized to make the climactic event a lot more dynamic. I would definitely recommend this book to thriller lovers!

***********************SPOILER ALERT!!*********************

Ending: I don’t think this is a book that I will reveal the ending. Only because the twist is what made this book stand out!

Leave a Reply

