TBR Challenge #6: Favorite Trope

wires and nerve

Wires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer

Rating: 4/5

Why? So I picked this book for this theme because this graphic novel includes one of my tropes ever and that is the hate-love relationship. I love these types of love story of boy meets girl and they instantly hate each other, but as the book/series progress they eventually fall in love for each other. Now I’m not saying that this graphic novel will turn into that, since it is the first in the series, but it does have the essence of it. I think eventually there will be something there.

Review: I really enjoyed reading this graphic novel and seeing all the beloved characters again. Yes, I know I wasn’t a fan of this series before, but after I read Winter I was totally floored! So of course I had to pick this up since Iko is one of my favorite characters in the original series.

I’m glad that Meyer decided to do a spin-off series on the android, but I’m not that thrilled on the graphic part. Although the story is amazing so far, I think the graphic part didn’t quite hit the mark. Meyer’s books are always so vivid and detailed when she’s describing her characters, settings and world building. The problem is that did not resonate into this graphic novel. I would have love for her characters to be more vibrant and exciting, similar to her books.

That rant over, I really did love the story. I wish I waited a bit longer to get my hands on this so that I don’t have to wait so long for the next one. This volume is filled with so much action right from the start. I love that I get to see Scarlet and Wolfe again and the whole gang. I did wish that there would have been more Scarlet and Wolfe, but that’s ok, I actually wasn’t even expecting them, so it was a pleasant surprise.

That being said, I’m really excited to see what happens to Iko and her little adventure!

3 thoughts on “TBR Challenge #6: Favorite Trope

  1. I agree; the graphics were too bland. Such interesting characters/worlds deserve more vibrant art. When you think of all the great fan art out there… ! But I also enjoyed the story a lot. I hope it will end up with a HEA for Iko!

  2. Pingback: June Wrap-up and July TBR |

Leave a Reply

