Top 5: Books without Romance

top-5

This was actually a Top 5 that I had a hard time picking my favorite, only because romance is in almost every books that I have read. I’m not a fan of contemporary romance, but I do enjoy romance in my books.

Amazingly enough I was able to pick 5 books and to cheat a little bit I also added to graphic novels. Here are my picks: (these are in no particular order)

The Fourth Monkey by J.D Barker

One of my recent reads and I enjoyed it enough to add this to the list. I love the plot, the characters and the twist in the end, although cliched, it still worked for me. Definitely no romance in this book.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E Schwab

Although, I wasn’t that impressed with this book, I really did enjoy the writing and the world building was phenomenal. I’m really surprised that there is no romance in this book at all. I’m not sure about the other two, but definitely it was missing on this one.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

This book is definitely one of the top picks for me last year and still love it. I’m not usually the type to read such a heart wrenching book, but this is one of those special books that must be read by all.

The Martian by Andy Weir

Just like the previous book, this too was on my top reads of last year and the movie is just as great. I love the protagonist and the hilarious scenarios that the author created considering the circumstances.

Sorta Like a Rock Star by Matthew Quick

I’ve read this book awhile back and it was one of the hidden gems that our Goodreads groups chose. It’s sad that not a lot of people knows about it and fewer pick it up to read. I agree the first half is a bit bland, but the end really made up for the tedious beginning. I really do encourage others to pick this book up about an optimistic girl with lots of hope.

Through the Woods by Emily Caroll

My first graphic novel devoid of romance, such an amazing and creepy book, best to read at night. I love it!

Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier

This is another one of those books that twists your heart, but still such a beautiful story that should be read by all. I love how the story discuss such a mature content, but still geared for younger readers.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Top 5: Books without Romance

  1. Great list! Iโ€™ve read A Darker Shade of Magic, A Monster Calls, Through the Woods, and The Martian and those are all fantastic books without romance! Iโ€™m also really interested in the other ones you had on here especially Sorta Like A Rock Star since Iโ€™m always a sucker for hidden gems! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

