Top 5: Series that got Better

top-5

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday is actually pretty difficult to narrow down. All the books that I’m thinking about didn’t get better, they were just ok. Good, but not better than the first.

Hmmmm…

HarryPotter

Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling

I’ve been trying not to use this series too much on my Top 5, but really you have to admit, this series just got better and better as Harry and his friends grew up. The character development and world building were phenomenal and Rowling made the world grander in each book she released.

miss peregrine

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Trilogy by Ransom Riggs

I’m not totally in love with this series by the end of it, but I do think the story line gets better by the second book. In the first, I feel that the author tried to create the story around pictures that he has accumulated, rather than let the story tell itself. By the second book, his use of pictures enhanced the story, rather than the other way around.

Cinder

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I never hid the fact that I wasn’t fan of the first book. Cinder and Kai, even now, is not my favorite couple, but I do give props to Meyer because her books got better and better as each book is released. When I finished Winter, I was totally hooked with all the characters and even went as far as reading the short stories and graphic novel companion.

percy

Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan

I definitely wasn’t a fan of the first book when I read it, but I eventually grew fond of the protagonist and his friends. I love reading their quests and Riordan became one of my favorite children’s author. I love reading all his novels. My favorite book in the series is The Battle of the Labyrinth.

book of ivy

The Book of Ivy Duology by Amy Engel

The first book was an average read for me, but if we’re talking about series that got better, then this will definitely be in my top 5. I really enjoyed the second book a lot better than the first. I felt that Engel’s writing evolved with the final book and enjoyed the character development of the protagonist.

***

So that’s it for me and my Top 5!

 

Leave a Reply

