Top 5: Second Book is Best

top-5

It is very rare that I find a trilogy/series that I enjoyed the second book a lot more than the first. I think this is a Top 5 that I might not get to 5.

Scarlet1. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

I never hid the fact that I’m not a fan of the Lunar Chronicles until the end of the series. I barely finished Cinder and was actually thinking of not proceeding with the series, but I’m glad that I did and  its all thanks to Scarlet. I loved every minute of this book and I couldn’t put it down. Scarlet and Wolfe are relationship goals! Definitely one of those rare moments when the second book won me over.

2. The Battle at the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

I’m a fan of Percy Jackson, but not until this book. I enjoyed the other three books, this books, however, made me love the whole series. I love the concept of the maze and the different twist and turns within it.

3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K Rowling

I might be cheating on this one because technically this was the first book I read in the series. Yes, you heard me correct. I totally skipped HP1 and HP2, and started with the Prisoner of Azkaban. So therefore, this third book has remained my favorite ever since and for me it’s just better than the first two.

every trick on the book4. Every Trick in the Book by Lucy Arlington

This is one of the cozy mystery that I enjoyed reading last year and its the second book in the series. Technically in cozies you don’t need to read the first book to understand the consecutive books, but I enjoyed this a lot more only because you already know the people, the protagonists and I think the mystery is a lot more developed.

5. The Revolution of Ivy by Amy Engel

Technically, this is the second book in the series, but its also the last. I’m including this books because I believe that it was the best in comparison to the first. I love the character development of the main/minor characters and the world development, that is included, also improved. The fact that Engel’s writing vastly improve in this book, I think she deserves to be included in the list!

***

That’s it for me on this week’s Top 5 Wednesday! ^_^

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Top 5: Second Book is Best

Leave a Reply

