Superstitious Book Tag (Original)

Yes, it’s definitely safe for you to do this tag! No superstitious elements link to this tag!

So I’ve been perusing other blogs and booktubers on possible tags that I can do. I’m off from work and in need to do something with my time. Since there really isn’t a lot of tags that centered on Halloween, I thought I’ll create my first ever tag. A lot of people are ver superstitious and most of the time they are linked to something evil or bad. Here are 5 common superstitious that people believe in.

1. Walking past a graveyard: Name a book that you enjoyed because of the setting.

in the shadow of blackbirds

In the Shadow of Blakbirds by Cat Winters – I super recent read, but I really enjoyed how the author used her choice of setting to create a sinister environment for her protagonist.

172 Hours

172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad – Another creepy book that played with my mind, psychologically. I can never use the airport bathrooms without remembering this book!

2. Crossing paths with a black cat: Name your favorite Halloween monster and show any books that features these monsters. (ie. Frankenstein’s Monster, mummy, zombies, etc.)

It

It by Stephen King – Clowns are not really monsters, but I’m terrified of them, and since It just came out in theaters again, I’m pretty sure there are new generation of children/teens that has been scared by this not so pleasant clown. The book is good though, even though it’s massive.

warm bodies

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion – I know this book is not creepy at all, but it does still feature zombies, and its a good read, so I’m adding it!

3. Walking under the ladder: Name some of your favorite ghost novels (yes, walking under the ladder superstition has something to do with ghosts)

Anna Dressed

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake – Although I’m not a fan of the second book in the duology, the first book definitely gave me the chills. A good read for this month!

4. The wrong side of the bed: Name a book that is set in a dystopian world, but still gave you the creep-vibes (Egyptian times people believed that you must wake up on the right side of the bed, if you wake up on the left side, which they associate with death and destruction, they will be have a bad day)

rotandruin

Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry – An amazing series. Yes, I know I’m not done yet, but still so wonderfully written and the world building! Don’t get me started!

5. Friday the 13th: Name your favorite scary/creepy short story.

slasher girls

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys by Different Authors – Not all stories are a hit, but definitely spine-chilling!

***

So that’s it for my first ever book tag! Hope you enjoyed it and I tag everyone or anyone who wants to do it!

For more superstition facts check out the article written by Mitch Horowitz on 13 Superstitions that still scare the Bejesus out of us. 

Thanks ^_^

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

