To Be Continued Readathon Wrap-up

tbc

Last month I decided to participate in a month-long readathon. For 2020 I really wanted to get as many series finished, so I thought this was fitting for me. I wanted to at least get to read three books for this readathon, but I guess the short month just caught up to me. I read 2 of the three books.

The Shadow Hour by Melissa Grey

I actually wrote a review for this book and it can be found here.

As I wrote on my review, I really don’t think I’m going to be picking up the third book anytime soon. I still want to know what happens in the end so I’m not 100% sure if I will quit the series.

Anyways, I enjoyed reading this book and really love the relationships that are formed in this book and I love the character development in this novel. I think the author did such a great job in developing in her characters and that’s very important in a second book. I love the representation of friendships in her first book and I love it even more in this second book. Like I’ve mentioned before, it’s very rare to find a good bond of friendships in novels these days and I’m glad that Grey focuses her attention on this detail. Also, her representation of strong female characters. I really enjoyed it in this book more than the first because I felt that she stepped up her game, even the weakest female she created, bloomed to be someone that took charge.

This is definitely one of those books that I’m on the fence about continuing. I did enjoy my reading experience, but I just have my reservations on the third book that makes me now want to pick it up.

The Devil Breaks You by Libba Bray

I’ve loved this series since I read the first book. The last book has been released this year and so I’m finally going to find out what will happen to all our Diviner friends.

I really enjoyed this book, I won’t get into too much details since it is the third book in the series, but everything is jake! As usual, I think Bray, did an awesome job in her setting of the roaring twenties. From the speakeasy bars to the lingo that she uses, everything transports you back to the 20’s. I love it! This book is making me want to read more of the same era. Anyways, as per the actual story, it was really good. I was hoping that they used the asylum a lot more, it was still fairly well done.

I can’t wait to read the last book in this series because I want to know what happens to all the Diviners. I just love how she wrote all her characters, Evie still grates me, but the rest are amazing. I’m not a fan of love triangles, but I think Bray does such a great job in making the love interests second to the story that you even forget about it.

***

So that’s it for me, this readathon was actually fun and I might do it again next year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment