Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added to my TBR List

toptentuesday

I feel like this week’s topic on TTT fits me perfectly. I’ve been buying and adding so many books lately in my TBR that I’m getting a bit overwhelmed. I’m not going to list down books that are second in a series because if I like the first book then obviously enough the second book should be

Anyways, here are my top ten recently added books in my TBR (in no particular order):

Forbidden Wish

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

I’ve seen this book everyone’s TBR a few months back, but I wasn’t that inclined to pick it up. As much as I love the movie Aladdin, I just wasn’t drawn to this book. Then it became available in my library, so I figured why not. I read the first three chapters and I was hooked. Unfortunately, the book was due and now I’m actually debating on just getting my own copy.

wrath-and-dawn

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

This too I really wasn’t in the mood to pick up since it didn’t really appeal to me, until I found out it’s a duology! So I figured why not, try it out since its only two books. Plus, I’ve heard so many people rave about this book last year both on Goodreads and Youtube.

the-vault-of-dreamers

The Vault of Dreamers by Caragh M. O’Brien

This is actually one of the rare moments in my recent life that added a book on my TBR without consulting Goodreads on rating. I was just perusing my local bookstore and stumbled on this book. The cover was fascinating and the synopsis even more so. I just had to pick it up. Even if it does have a low rating on Goodreads, I still want to see for myself if I will like it or not.

magnus chase

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Riordan

Even though this book was part of my most anticipated book release of 2015, I actually made up my mind not to read this trilogy. I’m not really a fan of Norse mythology and felt that I’m just going to waste my time reading three books that I might not even enjoy. Then I kinda gave in to peer pressure. I just saw so many great reviews and gushes on this book and the second book that I just can’t pass up the chance. So here we are adding three books to my already growing TBR.

an-ember-in-the-ashes

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Until recently this book wasn’t even in my radar. I know of the book and the countless of fans of this book, but I just wan’t that interested in reading it. I’m usually a mainstream reader and tend to lean to books that have good reviews by everyone plus their moms, but this one just didn’t attract my attention. Why is it here in my TBR then? because I have the book. Yes, that is right, I have the book on my shelf. I couldn’t help myself the cover is just so beautiful that I had to buy it. So here I am adding this book to my TBR. I’m not really 100% sure I’ll be reading the other books in the series/trilogy(?) but only time can tell.

assassin's curse.jpg

Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

I’m not really entirely sure where I’ve heard this book from. I know that it was from one of the Booktuber’s I watch, but I’m just not in the mood to search for that particular person. Anyways, not only is the book beautiful, the story really does sound fascinating as well. Since my library has it, why not take a stab at it. The synopsis does sound a lot like another book on my TBR, I believe it’s The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson. FYI, this book was blurb by Tamora Pierce, so even more reason to try the book out!

six of crows

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Yes, I think I’m one of the only ones who has not ready anything by this author. I have her Shadow and Bone, Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, but I haven’t picked up any of them. I’m actually a bit more drawn to the Six of Crows duology than Bardugo’s trilogy. Either way this one has just been recently added.

the raven boys

Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I’ve heard nothing but good things about this series. I’ve been meaning to start it, but never get around to actually reading it. I’ve finally bought the book and so therefore it is now officially on my TBR list!

the-land-of-stories

The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer

I admit this is a cover and celebrity buy. Not only is the cover beautiful, but it is also written by Chris Colfer, the actor who plays Kurt in Glee. I’m not much of a Glee fan, but I do love Kurt’s character. The book does sound intriguing though, so I have that going for me, which is nice.

Tiger's Curse.jpg

Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck

I know it’s an old series, but I recently became acquainted with these books and not only do they look good, but they also sound marvelous. So I just had to put it on my TBR list.

***

That’s it for this week’s TTT. Let me know books that are on your recent TBR, maybe I’ll add it on to mine as well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added to my TBR List

  1. The Tiger’s Quest series is excellent. I actually haven’t read the fourth book yet because I don’t want to finish them quite yet. And you aren’t the only one who hasn’t read any of the Leigh Bardugo books either. I have Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom at home but I haven’t gotten to them yet.

  2. I loved The Forbidden Wish and The Vault of Dreamers. I felt both were very underrated. I’ve had The Assassin’s Curse on and off my TBR for a long time, I really should try reading it some time.

Leave a comment